SITUATION #120: Networked Photography – Launch of New Educational Formats for the Photographic Image

18.04.2018

Fotomuseum Winterthur

Interactive Image Translation with pix2pix-tensorflow, affinelayer.com/pixsrv, screenshot, 2018 © Christopher Hesse

In Switzerland, more than three quarters of people over the age of 15 have a smartphone – a device with which images are consumed, but also produced and distributed. Here at Fotomuseum Winterthur, we want to empower ourselves and our visitors to become independent, thoughtful and creative media users. So we are expanding our educational programme around the photographic. Together, we can all play a part in shaping the future.

Rapid changes in the field of the photographic have brought us new kinds of images. Photos have stepped out of their frames, climbed down from the walls, and left the family albums to play a wider role in our everyday lives. We are all active participants in this process, whether we post pictures in social media, send them via instant messaging or save them to the cloud. The role of the photographer, too, has changed. It is no longer simply a question of pressing the shutter-release button. Today’s photographer copies, processes, remixes and recontextualises existing material, as well as writing codes and algorithms that generate images.

At Fotomuseum Winterthur, we are openly receptive to all these changes and we encounter them with a great sense of curiosity and eagerness to experiment. We conduct our research at the cutting edge of new developments and take an active part in the discourse surrounding the photographic image. From cyanotypes to screenshots, from pin-hole cameras to virtual reality, from baryta paper to beamed projections, we want to see the entire spectrum of photography represented.

That is why, in future, we plan to offer more in the way of image and media skills, developed in collaboration with pioneers and specialists in various fields. To launch our new programme, we are offering a workshop on the theme of “Metadata, Algorithms and Artificial Intelligence”. The workshop will address some major questions relating to the photographic. How do algorithms drive and alter the visibility of images? What is machine learning, and is artificial intelligence compromised? Where are metadata cached and what do they do? How are we visible online in the first place? Combining a presentation with group activities and open debates, the workshop aims to connect with photography directly and to address issues of visual politics.

The workshop lasts 2–3 hours (costs: 230 CHF) and participants are invited to bring their own laptops. It is conducted by Jana Honegger, media artist and coordinator of workshops and events relating to digital media.

Registration and further information: baumgartner@fotomuseum.ch


More about the educational programme of Fotomuseum Winterthur: fotomuseum.ch/en/visit/21484_education

The workshop was conceived in cooperation with W3rkhof.

Cluster: Infrastructure

SITUATION #120: Vernetze Fotografie – Launch neuer Formate in der Vermittlung des Fotografischen

18.04.2018

Fotomuseum Winterthur

Interactive Image Translation mit pix2pix-tensorflow, affinelayer.com/pixsrv, Screenshot, 2018 © Christopher Hesse

Mehr als drei Viertel der über 15-Jährigen in der Schweiz besitzen ein Smartphone und somit ein Gerät, mit welchem Bilder konsumiert, aber auch produziert und verteilt werden. Damit wir zusammen mit unserem Publikum zu selbstbestimmten, reflektierten und kreativen Mediennutzer_innen werden, bauen wir am Fotomuseum Winterthur die Vermittlung des Fotografischen weiter aus. Wir wollen – genauso wie unser Publikum – die Zukunft mitgestalten.

Der rasende Wandel des Fotografischen konfrontiert uns mit neuen Arten von Bildern. Sie verlassen den Rahmen, kommen runter von den Wänden, raus aus den privaten Alben und rein in unseren Alltag. An diesen Prozessen sind wir alle aktiv beteiligt, indem wir Fotos in sozialen Netzwerken posten, sie über Instant-Messaging-Dienste verschicken oder in der Cloud aufbewahren. Auch die Rolle der Fotograf_innen verändert sich. Sie drücken nicht mehr unbedingt auf den Auslöser. Sie kopieren, bearbeiten, remixen und rekontextualisieren bestehendes Material. Sie schreiben Codes und Algorithmen, die Bilder generieren.

Am Fotomuseum Winterthur treten wir all diesen Veränderungen mit einer grossen Offenheit und Experimentierfreude entgegen. Wir forschen am Puls der Zeit und beteiligen uns am Diskurs zum Fotografischen. Von der Cyanotypie zum Screenshot, von der Lochkamera zur Virtual Reality, vom Barytpapier zur Beamerprojektion: Das ganze Spektrum des Fotografischen soll vertreten sein.

Daher werden wir in Zukunft vermehrt auch Angebote in den Bereichen Bild- und Medienkompetenz anbieten, welche wir zusammen mit Pionier_innen und Expert_innen verschiedener Bereiche entwickeln. Als Start in unser neues Programm bieten wir einen Workshop zum Thema «Metadaten, Algorithmen und künstliche Intelligenz» an. Im Workshop befassen wir uns mit wichtigen Fragen rund um das Fotografische. Wie steuern und verändern Algorithmen die Sichtbarkeit von Bildern? Was ist Machine Learning und sind künstliche Intelligenzen befangen? Wo verstecken sich Metadaten und was können diese? Wie sind wir im Netz überhaupt sichtbar? Zum Teil im Referat, zum Teil in Gruppenaktivitäten und offenen Diskussionen, knüpfen wir konkret an die Fotografie und damit an Fragen visueller Politiken an.

Der Workshop dauert 2–3 Stunden (nach Absprache; Kosten: 230 CHF), Teilnehmer_innen sind eingeladen, ihre eigenen Laptops mitzubringen. Das Angebot wird von Jana Honegger, Medienkünstlerin und Veranstalterin von Workshops und Events rund um digitale Medien durchgeführt.

Anmeldungen und weitere Informationen: baumgartner@fotomuseum.ch


Mehr über das Vermittlungsangebot des Fotomuseums: fotomuseum.ch/de/visit/21484_education

Der Workshop enstand in Kooperation mit W3rkhof.

Cluster: Infrastruktur