Fotomuseum Winterthur | Saturday, 20.10.2018 – Sunday, 10.02.2019

25 Years! Shared Histories, Shared Stories

To celebrate the 25th anniversary of Fotomuseum Winterthur, we have invited friends and colleagues who have accompanied us along the way to choose their favourite works from our collection, which has been a mainstay of our activities ever since the museum was founded in 1993. Director Nadine Wietlisbach, by adding further works to this selection, affords a glimpse of our future path.

Come and join us on a journey through the history of the museum and the stories it tells. The exhibition and the accompanying publication, which includes numerous interviews and essays as well as a portrait series by Anne Morgenstern (designed by Hi, Megi Zumstein and Claudio Barandun and to be published by Spector Books in November), both are under the banner of our shared memories and our anticipation of adventures still to come.


With works by: 
John Baldessari, Lewis Baltz, Becky Beasley, Besma Ben Said, Suky Best, Daniele Buetti, Hannah Collins, Antje Dorn, ETH Zurich Urban-Think Tank, Jan Paul Evers, Valie Export, Nicolas Faure, Hal Fischer, Seiichi Furuya, Thomas Galler, Luigi Ghirri, Nan Goldin, Paul Graham, Tina Hage, Roni Horn, David Horvitz, Peter Hujar, Graciela Iturbide, Paul Albert Leitner, Sherrie Levine, Gordon Matta-Clark, Boris Mikhailov, Mark Morrisroe, Kristina Õllek, Onorato & Krebs, Hirsch Perlman, Walter Pfeiffer, Peter Piller, Max Pinckers, Pipilotti Rist, Guadalupe Ruiz, Adrian Sauer, Bruno Serralongue, Fazal Sheikh, Dayanita Singh, Alec Soth, Joel Sternfeld, Christer Strömholm, Sturtevant, Diana Tamane, Shōmei Tōmatsu, Bertien van Manen, Hannah Villiger, Jeff Weber, Christopher Williams and Bruno Zhu 

Selected by:
Laia Abril, Emma Bowkett, Melanie Bühler, Beate Eckhardt, Patrick Frey, Marta Gili, Martin Heller, Rainer Iglar, Nicole Kurmann, Zoe Leonard, Irene de Mendoza, Yann Mingard, Andreas Reinhart, Michael Ringier, Esther Ruelfs, Gudrun Ruetz, Wilhelm Schürmann, Aveek Sen, Shirana Shahbazi, Dorothea Strauss, David Streiff, Jan Wenzel, Trix Wetter, Francesco Zanot, Mara Züst and Nadine Wietlisbach.

Supported by