Past SITUATION

SITUATION #113: Networked Cameras

09.02.–22.04.2018

online

Global networks and new properties of the digital image have transformed the camera apparatus into an integral and indistinguishable part of a digital infrastructure. Images are shared instantly after being taken, to the point where the boundaries among the act of photographic capture, image distribution and its materialisations become increasingly blurred. Artists have rethought ideas of what constitute a camera based on the new possibilities offered by networks and algorithms, where the camera has essentially become a network in itself. What follows is a list of experimental projects that have been developed in recent years and challenge our understanding of the photographic apparatus:

Dries Depoorter and Max Pinckers, Trophy Camera v0.9, 2017. driesdepoorter.be/trophy-camera

Ross Goodwin, Word.Camera, 2016. vimeo.com/158403097

Andrew Kupresanin, Nadia, Intelligent Camera Interface, 2010. youtube.com/watch?v=ColrQao4Hlg

Hsinseungback Kimyonghun, Aposematic Jacket, 2014. ssbkyh.com/works/aposematic_jacket

Marco Land, CCamera, 2017. ccamera.org

Golan Levin & Zachary Lieberman, Reface, 2007. flong.com/projects/reface

Golan Levin, Chris Sugrue, and Kyle McDonald, Augmented Hand Series, 2014. flong.com/projects/augmented-hand-series

Kyle McDonald, Sharing Faces, 2013–2014. vimeo.com/96549043

Sascha Pohflepp, Buttons, 2006 –2010. pohflepp.net/Buttons

Matt Richardson, Descriptive Camera, 2012. mattrichardson.com/Descriptive-Camera

Philipp Schmitt, Camera Restricta, 2015. philippschmitt.com/projects/camera-restricta

Eric Siu, Eeyee, 2008. ericsiu.net/eeyee

Akihito Taniguchi, Lens-less Camera, 2009. asquare.org/networkresearch/2012/lens-less-camera

Jeffrey Thompson, Every Possible Photograph, 2013. jeffreythompson.org/every-possible-photograph.php

WordsEye Inc, wordseye, 2014. wordseye.com


Cluster: Infrastructure