Visit

Who We Are

Founded in Winterthur, Switzerland in 1993, Fotomuseum is a leading venue for the display and discussion of photography. Through exhibitions, publications, events, and the building of a collection (dating from 1960 to the present day) the museum explores the diversity of photographic media. Our programme presents the history of photography with the ambition of visualising that history differently. We also seek to understand the rapidly expanding nature of photographic technology and aesthetics today, especially through our commitment to research and our engagement with young artists.

Fotomuseum takes pride in the quality of its exhibitions and in the uncompromising scrutiny of its discourse. Openness and hospitality are important to us. We challenge ourselves and our audiences to think differently about the photographic, convinced that to interpret the image is also to discover something important about the world. Through partnerships in Europe and across the globe we provide both on- and offline forums for the exchange of ideas and images. Our goal is to both inspire and surprise our many collaborators and visitors.

Fotomuseum Winterthur Foundation

Fotomuseum is governed by a Foundation which is responsible for maintaining its concept and property, notably its building and the collection. The Foundation appoints the Directors, develops strategy in collaboration with the staff and approves the budget and accounts. Internally, the Foundation guarantees the stability of the institution and the artistic autonomy of the programme. Externally, it is a committed representative of Fotomuseum and its activities.

The Board of Trustees:
Tina Aich
Monika Faber
Lisa Fuchs
Eugen Haltiner
Michael Ringier 
Jan Schoch
Dorothea Strauss (President)
Ernst Wohlwend

Download the latest annual report here.

Direction

Fotomuseum is managed by Thomas Seelig (interim Director). He is responsible for the programme, budget and annual accounts and supports the activities of both the Foundation and the Friends’ Association. The Director has a high level of autonomy in relation to the programme.

Center for Photography

Fotomuseum is part of the Center for Photography formed with the Fotostiftung Schweiz. Shared facilities and activities include collections’ storage, a library, seminar rooms, an education programme and the Bistro George, run by Casino Theater.

Besuchen

Über uns

Das Fotomuseum wurde 1993 in Winterthur gegründet und ist heute ein führender Ort für die Präsentation und Diskussion von Fotografie. Mittels Ausstellungen, Publikationen, Veranstaltungen und dem Aufbau einer Sammlung (1960 bis heute) erforscht das Museum die Vielfalt fotografischer Medien. Mit unserem Programm zur Geschichte der Fotografie verfolgen wir den Anspruch, diese Geschichte neu veranschaulicht darzustellen. Ausserdem wollen wir uns mit den zusehends immer stärker erweiterten Eigenschaften der fotografischen Techniken und Ästhetik auseinandersetzen, insbesondere durch unser Engagement in der Forschung und unsere Zusammenarbeit mit jungen Künstler_innen.

Das Fotomuseum ist stolz auf die Qualität seiner Ausstellungen und die kompromisslose Reflexion des eigenen Diskurses. Offenheit und Gastfreundschaft sind uns dabei wichtig. Wir fordern uns und unsere Besucher_innen dazu heraus, über das Fotografische anders zu denken, und sind überzeugt, dass man bei der Interpretation eines Bildes immer auch etwas Bedeutsames über die Welt erfährt. Über unsere Partnerschaften in Europa und rund um den Globus bieten wir Foren für den Ideen- und Bilderaustausch sowohl on- wie offline. Unser Ziel ist es, die vielen Mitwirkenden und Besucher_innen des Museums zu inspirieren und zu überraschen.

Stiftung Fotomuseum Winterthur

Verwaltet wird das Fotomuseum von einer Stiftung, welche für Konzeption und Besitz des Museums verantwortlich zeichnet, insbesondere der Gebäude und der Sammlung. Die Stiftung wählt die Direktion, erarbeitet zusammen mit der Belegschaft die Strategie und genehmigt Budget und Rechnung. Nach innen ist die Stiftung Garant für die Stabilität des Betriebes und für die Autonomie der Programmgestaltung, nach aussen vertritt sie engagiert das Fotomuseum und dessen Aktivitäten.

Stiftungsrat: 
Tina Aich
Monika Faber
Lisa Fuchs
Eugen Haltiner
Maja Hoffmann
Michael Ringier 
Jan Schoch
Dorothea Strauss (Präsidentin)
Ernst Wohlwend

Direktion

Das Fotomuseum wird von Thomas Seelig (Direktor a.i.) geführt. Er ist verantwortlich für Programm, Budget und Jahresrechnung und trägt die Stiftungs- und Vereinsaktivitäten mit. Die Direktion hat hohe Programmautonomie.

Fotozentrum

Das Fotomuseum ist Teil des mit der Fotostiftung Schweiz aufgebauten Fotozentrums. Zu den gemeinsam genutzten Räumlichkeiten und Aktivitäten gehören die Aufbewahrung der Sammlungen, eine Bibliothek, Seminarräume, ein Vermittlungsprogramm, sowie das vom Casino Theater betriebene Bistro George.