SITUATIONS statement

As every citizen with a smartphone, laptop or tablet knows, photography is becoming increasingly ‘distributed’. Driven by the vast replicative power of digital algorithms, photographs now move with tremendous speed across a wide variety of devices and platforms. The distinction between the still and the moving image is becoming increasingly blurred. At the same time, digital vision is now profoundly social, implicated in many areas of human activity. Certainly, this is having an impact on practice as younger artists in particular work with a range of media and no longer easily describe themselves as photographers.

In our daily work we find ourselves speaking more of the photographic than photography, of photographic media, rather than the medium. This poses a challenge for a photography museum with a distinctive, but significantly analogue history. We are convinced that Fotomuseum Winterthur needs to react decisively and that this means far more than simply re-embracing a rather out-dated ‘digital turn’.

On 10 April 2015 Fotomuseum Winterthur launched a new exhibition format titled SITUATIONS, which allows us to react more quickly to developments within photographic culture. The role of SITUATIONS is to define Fotomuseum Winterthur’s vision of what photography is becoming, at the same time offering an innovative integration of physical exhibition space and virtual forum. Using tags and clusters as a mode of curatorial classification the aim is to integrate the real and the virtual in relation to exhibition in a new way.

Numbered consecutively, a SITUATION may last a few hours, or two months, and might be photographic imagery, a film, a text, an on-line interview, a screenshot, a photo-book presentation, a projection, a Skype lecture, a performance etc. It might take place in Winterthur or perhaps in São Paulo or Berlin and be streamed on our website. The idea is to construct a constantly growing archive of SITUATIONS, reframing the idea of exhibition in relation to new technologies and both our local and global audiences.

The SITUATIONS programme is organised around key clusters: the first was Relations (SITUATIONS #1 to #8), examining the changing social ontology of photography in relation to digital culture. Seeing Machines (SITUATION #9 to #19) explored the way that technologies of seeing are increasingly devoid of human agency, the unprecedented power of algorithmic vision developing a new mode of ‘seeing’. Formats (SITUATION #20 to #22), the third cluster, dealt with lost and changing visual formats and the implications of these medial transformations for an examination of art and photography. Vanishing (SITUATION #23 to #27), explored the transitional moments inherent in the act of vanishing and asked how, and in what way, these moments are marked by the dynamics of (re-)configuration and (re-)appearance. Witnessing radical transformations in the production, distribution and consumption of images that migrate across mobile and interactive displays, the fifth cluster, (in)stability (SITUATION #28 to #31), revolved around moments of (in)stability in the history and contemporary experience of photography and film. Play (SITUATION #32 to #38) looked at new play practices and platforms – artistic game modifications, the gamification of photography, or new forms of social online interaction – that have emerged in the digital realm, questioning, in turn, how new parameters of game/play challenge the agency of the players. Proletariats (SITUATIONS #39 to #41) examined the potential of artistic strategies of representation to deconstruct the complex imbrications of labour, subjectivity, gender, and social positioning. The eight cluster, Filter (SITUATIONS #42 to #53), examined the politics of images, questioning the hierarchies of social power and value systems that are inscribed into their production, selection and circulation and that are deeply embedded in media technologies and their representations. The Re-enactment cluster (SITUATIONS #54 to #58) exposed the photographic representation as a process of creation rather than of reproduction of reality. Revolving around the theme of Flesh, the tenth cluster (SITUATIONS #59 to #67) looked at the interfaces where the gaze meets the body, where they both intersect to question their transforming nature. The latest cluster considered photography as a Placeholder (SITUATIONS #68 to #79), an object of information and exchange, entangled in circulatory processes, cultural semantics and social structures that determine its understanding.

Each cluster can be searched and reordered by visitors in the SITUATIONS online archive using a system of tags. Over time, new clusters and combinations – and new virtual exhibitions – will emerge.

The current cluster (SITUATIONS #80 to #87 from 20 May 2017) looks at the relationship of photography and facts. “Fake news“ and “alternative facts” have been dominating the headlines recently, often considered as manifestations of a “post-truth age” in which the distinction between fact and fiction, between an objective truth and subjective constructions of reality is said to become increasingly problematic. Photography plays a crucial role in this discussion, as a medium whose indexical quality and visual accuracy have been closely linked to claims of truth and objectivity throughout its history. All the while this specific relationship to reality has nurtured many instances – in art, mass media or politics – in which photographs were strategically (mis)appropriated for the production of effects of truth and evidence. What are we to make of this claim for the factual in a time when images and information circulate uncontrollably across digital networks and social media platforms, reproduced, manipulated and put in new contexts in an ever-increasing pace?

From 13 to 18 June 2017, SITUATIONS/Fact will expand to LISTE Art Fair Basel. The cluster will grow over the course of the summer.

SITUATIONS statement

Alle, die ein Smartphone, ein Tablet oder einen Laptop besitzen wissen, dass die Fotografie heute immer mehr zu einem Distributions- und Kommunikationsmedium wird. Angetrieben von der enormen Vervielfältigungskraft digitaler Algorithmen lassen sich Fotos heute blitzschnell zwischen zahlreichen Geräten und Plattformen hin und her schicken. Der Unterschied zwischen Standbild und bewegtem Bild verschwimmt immer mehr. Gleichzeitig ist das digitale Bild etwas grundlegend Soziales geworden, das in diversen Lebensbereichen eine entscheidende Rolle spielt. Dies hat auch Auswirkungen auf die Praxis insbesondere junger Künstler/innen, die mit vielen unterschiedlichen Medien arbeiten und sich nicht mehr einfach als Fotografen begreifen.

Bei unserer täglichen Arbeit merken wir, dass wir immer häufiger vom „Fotografischen“ sprechen als von „der Fotografie“; und von „fotografischen Medien“ statt vom „Medium“: Eine Herausforderung für ein Fotomuseum mit einer einzigartigen, aber primär analogen Vergangenheit. Wir sind überzeugt, dass das Fotomuseum Winterthur beherzt auf diese Entwicklungen reagieren muss, und zwar nicht einfach, indem wir auf den bereits überholten digital turn einschwenken.

Am 10. April 2015 hat das Fotomuseum Winterthur deshalb ein neues Ausstellungsformat mit dem Titel SITUATIONS lanciert, um auf fotografische und kulturelle Entwicklungen rascher und flexibler reagieren zu können. Mit SITUATIONS werden wir die Zukunft des Fotografischen begleiten, mitgestalten und gleichzeitig ein innovatives Zusammenspiel von physischen und virtuellen Räumen wagen. Die Ausstellungen werden inhaltlich entlang von Tags und Clustern kuratiert, was uns erlaubt, konkrete und virtuelle Ausstellungsobjekte neu miteinander zu kombinieren.

Eine SITUATION kann ein fotografisches Bild sein, ein Film, ein Text, ein Online-Interview, ein Screenshot, eine Fotobuchpräsentation, eine Projektion, eine Skype-Vorlesung oder eine Performance. Die SITUATIONS werden durchnummeriert und können ein paar Stunden dauern oder auch zwei Monate lang. SITUATIONS finden in Winterthur statt, aber auch in São Paulo oder Berlin – und als Stream auf unserer Website. So entsteht ein ständig anwachsendes digitales Archiv von SITUATIONS, mit denen wir die Idee der Ausstellung erweitern und nicht nur unsere lokalen Besucher erreichen, sondern übers Internet auch die grosse globale Öffentlichkeit.

Das Programm SITUATIONS ist entlang von zentralen thematischen Clustern organisiert. Das erste dieser Cluster war Beziehungen (SITUATIONS #1 bis #8), eine Erkundung der sich wandelnden sozialen Gestalt der Fotografie innerhalb der digitalen Kultur. Sehende Maschinen (SITUATIONS #9 bis #19) widmete sich dem Umstand, dass visuelle Technologien zunehmend ohne menschliche Beteiligung funktionieren und damit einen neuen, algorithmischen „Seh-Modus“ ermöglichen. Formate (SITUATIONS #20 bis #22) beschäftigte sich als drittes Cluster mit vergangenen und sich verändernden visuellen Formaten, und befragte die Bedeutung medialer Transformationen für eine zeitgenössische Auseinandersetzung mit Kunst und Fotografie. Verschwinden (SITUATIONS #23 bis #27) untersuchte Prozesse des Verschwindens als Übergangsmomente und fragte danach, wie und auf welche Art und Weise diese Momente von einer Dynamik der (Re-)Konfiguration und des (Wieder-)Erscheinens gekennzeichnet sind. Angesichts der radikalen Veränderungen in der Produktion, Distribution und Nutzung von Bildern, die heute über mobile und interaktive Bildschirme migrieren, untersuchte das fünfte Cluster (in)stabil (SITUATIONS #28 bis #31) Momente des De/Stabilisierens in der Geschichte und in unserem zeitgenössischen Erleben von Fotografie und Film. Spiel (SITUATIONS #32 bis #38) wiederum beleuchtete künstlerische Spielmodifikationen, die Gamifizierung der Fotografie und Formen der sozialen Online-Interaktion, die durch neue Spiel-(An)Ordnungen im Digitalen entstehen – und wie sich diese auf den Handlungsraum der Spieler_innen auswirkt. Proletariate (SITUATIONS #39 bis #41) untersuchte künstlerische Repräsentationsverfahren in ihrem Potenzial, die vielschichtigen Verzahnungen von Arbeit, Subjektivität, von Geschlecht und sozialer Stellung zu dekonstruieren. Im achten Cluster Filter (SITUATIONS #42 bis #53) ging es um die Politik der Bilder und die sozialen Machthierarchien und Wertesysteme, die ihre Produktion, Selektion und Zirkulation mitbestimmen und sich unsichtbar in Medientechnologien und ihre Repräsentationen einschreiben. Ganz im Zeichen des Re-enactment stand das neunte Cluster (SITUATIONS #54 bis #58), das danach gefragt hat, inwiefern Realität ab- oder nachgebildet, oder überhaupt erst über die Re-Produktion geschaffen wird. Cluster zehn (SITUATIONS #59 to #67) erkundete unter dem Titel Flesh Schnittstellen, an denen sich Körper und Bild reflexiv verschränken: Momente, an denen der Blick sich auf der Körper-Oberfläche einschreibt, in sein Fleisch eindringt, ihn transformiert. Und unter dem Titel Platzhalter (SITUATIONS #68 bis #79) fand zuletzt eine Auseinandersetzung mit der Fotografie als Informations- und Austauschobjekt innerhalb von Zirkulationsprozessen, kulturellen Semantiken und sozialen Strukturen statt, die allesamt ihre Bedeutung mitbestimmen.

Dank einem System aus stichwortartigen Tags, lassen sich diese Cluster und die einzelnen SITUATIONS im Online-Archiv durchsuchen und auch neu kombinieren. Nach und nach kommen nun weitere Cluster hinzu und über die Tags ergeben sich neue virtuelle Ausstellungen.

Das aktuelle Cluster (SITUATION #80 bis #87, ab 20. Mai 2017) untersucht die Fotografie als faktisches Medium. Fake News und alternative facts dominieren zurzeit die Schlagzeilen: Die Rede ist von einem „post-faktischen Zeitalter“, in dem es immer schwieriger wird, zwischen Fakt und Fiktion, zwischen objektiver Wahrheit und subjektiver Wirklichkeitskonstruktion zu unterscheiden. Die Fotografie als Medium nimmt in dieser Diskussion eine zentrale Stellung ein: Aufgrund ihres realitätsbezogenen, abbildenden Charakters wurde ihr immer schon ein spezieller Anspruch auf Faktizität und Wahrheit attestiert. Gleichwohl wurde sie gerade deswegen auch immer schon in ganz verschiedenen Kontexten – in der Kunst, den Massenmedien oder der Politik – strategisch zur Erzeugung von Wahrheits- und Evidenzeffekten eingesetzt. Wie steht es um diesen Anspruch des Faktischen heute, in einer Zeit, in der sich Bilder und Informationen über digitale Kanäle und Social Media immer schneller und unkontrollierter verbreiten, reproduzieren, bearbeiten und in neue Kontexte setzen lassen?

Vom 13.–18. Juni 2017 expandiert SITUATIONS/Faktisch an die LISTE Art Fair Basel. Das Cluster erweitert sich im Laufe des Sommers.