Future Cluster

SITUATIONS/Follower

28.04.–01.07.2018

Surveilling, monitoring and controlling have been historically associated with powers attributed to photographic media. Furthermore, photography has always been the enabler of our latent and voyeuristic desires, and as such a site of projection of our cultural imaginary as well as a space of negotiation of self-images. How have these dynamics changed and been intensified by the present role of distributed photographic media, as we keep moving between the desire to control and to be looked at, short-circuited between our role of producer and consumer, of fan and fractal celebrity?

SITUATIONS/Follower explores some of the current shifts, revealing the construction of our representations online, exposing both our obsessive desires and vulnerable selves as well as the search for mastery and control through images. With works by Vito Acconci, David Goldblatt, Pia Hellenthal & Giorgia Malatrasi, Lauren McCarthy, Marisa Olson, Jenny Rova, and more.

The cluster opens on Friday, 27 April with a performance by Marisa Olson at 19:00. In WellWellWell, the artist, writer, and former punk singer takes the contemporary wellness craze as a starting point to explore our emotional relationship to digital technology. 

Kindly supported by Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne.

Lauren McCarthy
28.04.–01.07.2018
David Goldblatt
28.04.–01.07.2018
Jenny Rova
28.04.–01.07.2018
Jodi Dean
28.04.–01.07.2018
Vito Acconci
28.04.–01.07.2018
anonymous asks
28.04.–01.07.2018
Marisa Olson
28.04.–01.07.2018

Kommendes Cluster

SITUATIONS/Follower

28.04.–01.07.2018

Fotografische Medien werden immer schon mit Möglichkeiten der Überwachung, Kontrolle und Erfassung in Verbindung gebracht. Gleichzeitig hat die Fotografie seit jeher unsere latenten und voyeuristischen Sehnsüchte angesprochen und gefördert, und war als solche sowohl eine Projektionsfläche für das kulturelle Imaginäre als auch ein Austragungsort für die Verhandlung unserer Selbstbilder. Wie haben sich diese Dynamiken durch die gegenwärtige Rolle der Fotografie als einem Distributionsmedium verändert und verstärkt, wenn wir uns konstant hin und her bewegen zwischen dem Wunsch, Kontrolle auszuüben und dem Begehren, angeschaut zu werden? Wenn unsere Rollen als Produzierende und Konsumierende, als Fans und „fraktale Celebrities", miteinander kurzgeschlossen werden?

SITUATIONS/Follower untersucht einige der gegenwärtigen Verschiebungen und legt die Konstruktion unserer (Selbst-)Darstellungen im Netz frei. Das Cluster wirft einen Blick auf unsere obsessiven Wünsche und unser verletzliches Selbst auf der einen Seite und unserem Wunsch nach Kontrolle und Herrschaft durch Bilder auf der anderen. Mit Arbeiten von Vito Acconci, David Goldblatt, Pia Hellenthal & Giorgia Malatrasi, Lauren McCarthy, Marisa Olson, Jenny Rova, und weiteren.

Das Cluster eröffnet am Freitag, 27. April, mit einer Performance von Marisa Olson um 19:00. In WellWellWell nimmt die Künstlerin, Autorin und ehemalige Punk-Sängerin die gegenwärtige Wellness-Welle als Inspiration, um unserer emotionalen Beziehung zu digitalen Technologien nachzugehen.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne.

Lauren McCarthy
28.04.–01.07.2018
David Goldblatt
28.04.–01.07.2018
Jenny Rova
28.04.–01.07.2018
Jodi Dean
28.04.–01.07.2018
Vito Acconci
28.04.–01.07.2018
anonymous asks
28.04.–01.07.2018
Marisa Olson
28.04.–01.07.2018