Past SITUATION

SITUATION #21: Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, Cut, 2013

03.10.–29.11.2015

Fotomuseum Winterthur

Cut, film still, HD-video, 13:00 min., 2013 © Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller
Cut, film still, HD-video, 13:00 min., 2013 © Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller
Cut, film still, HD-video, 13:00 min., 2013 © Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller
Cut, installation view, HD-video, 13:00 min, 2013 © Raimund Zakowski
More
Less

Film would not be cinema without the cut. Whether an invisible seam or obvious scar, the “cut” is a fundamental component of cinematic narrative. In the experimental film collages of Christoph Girardet and Matthias Müller, the cut is made evident through their use of found footage material, which is taken from its original context and combined through montage into a new work. In their short film Cut, the title and technique is addressed on multiple thematic levels, since the artists “dissect” the body of film history in order to uncover sequences showing wounds, scars, stitches, and associated images that are then combined into a thirteen-minute film. These are images that literally go under the skin, like cinema itself. Working with found footage, Girardet & Müller’s film compositions are a reflection on the cinematic medium; a medium that is itself increasingly “dissected” as film is moving out of the movie theater only to reappear on the many digital screens of our mobile phones, tablets, laptops or TV sets.

FOUND FOOTAGE 2.0, 27.10.2015
Discussion as part of SITUATION #21

In the age of Web 2.0 working with found footage has become a globally widespread practice. Both artists and amateurs use the net as an inexhaustible archive of material, which is researched, collected, and used – manipulated and recontextualised at will. Through the use of digital tools, what were formerly largely the artistic strategies of appropriation have now become a common cultural practice. Never could aesthetic and artistic material be made available so quickly and circulate so fast as today via the Internet. Based on the appropriations strategies and experimental found footage collages of Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, the talk investigated what influence the developments and dynamics of Web 2.0 has had on the treatment and relevance of found footage in contemporary artistic practice.

Participants of the discussion: Johannes Binotto (cultural and media scholar), Regula Bochsler (author, historian and artist), Doris Gassert (media scholar and Research Curator, Fotomuseum Winterthur) and Aline Juchler (art and film scholar, Kurzfilmtage Winterthur).


A cooperation with 19. Internationale Kurzfilmtage Winterthur.

Cluster: Formats

Vergangene SITUATION

SITUATION #21: Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller, Cut, 2013

03.10.–29.11.2015

Fotomuseum Winterthur

Cut, Filmstill, HD-Video, 13:00 Min., 2013 © Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller
Cut, Filmstill, HD-Video, 13:00 Min., 2013 © Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller
Cut, Filmstill, HD-Video, 13:00 Min., 2013 © Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller
Cut, Installationsansicht, HD-Video, 13:00 Min., 2013 © Raimund Zakowski
Mehr
Weniger

Film wäre nicht Kino ohne den Schnitt: ob als unsichtbare Naht oder sichtbare Narbe, der ‚Cut‘ bildet das Grundelement jeder filmischen Erzählung. In den experimentellen Filmcollagen von Christoph Girardet und Matthias Müller ist der Schnitt stets vordergründig, wenn Found Footage Material, also bereits bestehendes Filmmaterial, aus dem Originalkontext herausgelöst und zu neuen Werken montiert wird. Im Kurzfilm Cut wird er sogleich auf mehreren Ebenen thematisch, wenn die Künstler den Korpus der Spielfilmgeschichte gleichsam „sezieren“, um Aus-Schnitte von Wunden, Narben, Stichen, sowie assoziativ verwandten Bildern zu einer dreizehnminütigen Filmcollage zu montieren. Bilder, die unter die Haut gehen – wie das Kino selbst. Und so sind die filmischen Found Footage Kompositionen von Girardet & Müller immer auch Reflexionen über das eigene Medium, das gegenwärtig selbst einen Einschnitt erlebt, wenn sich die Einheit von Film und Kino zunehmend auflöst und der Film auf den unterschiedlichsten Screens ausserhalb des Kinosaals wiedererscheint.

FOUND FOOTAGE 2.0, 27.10.2015
Gesprächsabend im Rahmen von SITUATION #21

Im Zeitalter des Web 2.0 ist das Arbeiten mit Found Footage zu einer weit verbreiteten Praxis geworden. Künstler wie Amateure nutzen das Netz als unerschöpfliches Materialarchiv: es wird geforscht, gesammelt und nach Belieben wiederverwendet, manipuliert und rekontextualisiert. Mit den digitalen Tools sind einst künstlerische Strategien der Appropriation zur gängigen kulturellen Praxis geworden; noch nie konnte ästhetisches und künstlerisches Material zudem so rasch zugänglich gemacht und zirkuliert werden wie über das Internet. Ausgehend von den Appropriationsstrategien und experimentellen Found Footage-Collagen von Christoph Girardet & Matthias Müller wurde nach dem Einfluss der Entwicklungen und Dynamiken des Web 2.0 auf den Umgang mit und die Relevanz von Found Footage in der zeitgenössischen künstlerischen Praxis gefragt.

Es diskutierten: Johannes Binotto (Kultur- und Medienwissenschaftler), Regula Bochsler (Autorin, Historikerin und Künstlerin), Doris Gassert (Medienwissenschaftlerin und Research Curator, Fotomuseum Winterthur) und Aline Juchler (Kunsthistorikerin und Filmwissenschaftlerin, Kurzfilmtage Winterthur).


Eine Kooperation mit den 19. Internationalen Kurzfilmtagen Winterthur.

Cluster: Formate