Past SITUATION

SITUATION #99: Karim Ben Khelifa, The Enemy, 2017

17.10.2017, 4:30–5:30 pm

Hochschule Luzern Media Lab

Karim Ben Khelifa, screenshot from The Enemy, VR installation, 2017 © Karim Ben Khelifa


Frustrated by the role of war photography and its inability to influence our attitude toward armed conflict, Karim Ben Khelifa has created an immersive installation that opens new frontiers within the field of photojournalism. Using virtual reality and augmented reality, his work attempts to expand photographic storytelling addressing issues of empathy, communication and morality, and is ultimately challenging the relationship between representation and conflict.

In this public lecture Ben Khelifa will present his work The Enemy, sharing his 18 years experience as a photojournalist and the issues that led him to develop the project while being a fellow at the MIT Open Documentary Lab in 2013 to 2015 and as a MIT Media Lab Visiting Artist in 2015 to 2017. How can immersive media transform the field of photojournalism? What is the role of the photographer who works with VR and his responsibilities? What other technologies are shaping new forms to create empathy and to connect to the audience in a meaningful way?

The lecture will be in English and will take place on 17 October 2017 at 4:30 pm at Media Lab of the School for Applied Sciences and Art in Lucerne (1. OG, building 745, Emmenbrücke). It will last about 1 hour followed by a Q&A session.

More about Karim Ben Khelifa: theenemyishere.org

Cluster: Immersive

Vergangene SITUATION

SITUATION #99: Karim Ben Khelifa, The Enemy, 2017

17.10.2017, 16:30–17:30 Uhr

Hochschule Luzern Media Lab

Karim Ben Khelifa, Screenshot aus The Enemy, VR Installation, 2017 © Karim Ben Khelifa


Frustriert von der Rolle der Kriegsfotografie und ihrem Mangel an Einfluss auf unsere Einstellung gegenüber bewaffneten Konflikten hat Karim Ben Khelifa eine immersive Installation kreiert, die neue Möglichkeiten im Bereich des Fotojournalismus auslotet. Sein Werk versucht das fotografische Geschichtenerzählen mit Hilfe von Virtual und Augmented Reality weiterzuentwickeln und verhandelt Themen wie Empathie, Kommunikation und Moral, um letztlich das Verhältnis von Krieg und Repräsentation zu hinterfragen.

In seinem öffentlichen Vortrag wird Ben Khelifa seine Arbeit The Enemy vorstellen und über seine 18-jährige Erfahrung als Fotojournalist sprechen. Zudem wird er die Beweggründe hinter der Entstehung der Arbeit beleuchten, die er zunächst 2013 bis 2015 als Fellow am MIT Open Documentary Lab und dann 2015 bis 2017 als MIT Media Lab Visiting Artist entwickelte. Wie können immersive Medien das Gebiet des Fotojournalismus verändern? Was ist die Rolle der Fotografen, die mit virtueller Realität arbeiten, und welche Verantwortung haben sie? Welche anderen Technologien kreieren neue Formen um Empathie zu erzeugen und auf aussagekräftige Weise mit dem Publikum zu kommunizieren?

Der Vortrag wird auf Englisch gehalten und findet am 17. Oktober 2017 um 16:30 im Media Lab der Hochschule Luzern statt (1. OG, Bau 745, Emmenbrücke). Er wird ungefähr eine Stunde dauern, gefolgt von einer Frage-und-Antwort-Runde.

Mehr von Karim Ben Khelifa: theenemyishere.org

Cluster: Immersiv