Past exhibition

Trans Emilia – The Linea di Confine Collection: A Territorial Reconnaissance of the Emilia-Romagna

22.10.2005–12.02.2006

More
Less

The Emilia-Romagna region is strung with melodically named cities. Punctuating the over two-thousand-year-old ancient Roman road Via Emilia and the dead-straight multi-lane A1 motorway from Milan to Bologna of today are cities such as Piacenza, high up in the northwest, Parma, Modena and Bologna in the flat lowlands near the Po, and Rimini and Ravenna further southeast on the sharp coast of the Adriatic. Together they characterise the region – so astounding in its diversity of landscape, culture and economy – that extends between Lombardy and Veneto in the north and the Toscana in the south.

Unfortunately, travelers only see this region of Italy as they rapidly pass through. With the soon-to-be-finished high-speed line of the Italian Railway from Milan to Bologna, a further opportunity is being promoted for the swift transit through this region, with various consequences: As a result of the transport-based link to the large Italian economic centers, regions like Reggio Emilia are being opened up to completely new, future-orientated perspectives, while other locations are slowly losing their strategic importance.

The project Linea di Confine (borderline) is a combination of the extensive commissioned photographic projects that have been launched since 1989 on the initiative of the Culture Department of Rubiera, located near the city of Modena. Internationally recognized photographers such as Lewis Baltz, Stephen Shore, John Davies, John Gossage and Axel Hütte have been invited to the Emilia-Romagna with the assignment of undertaking topographical research and leading workshops with young Italian photographers on thematically formulated artistic projects on subjects of regional interest. For over fifteen years, the goal has been to use the medium of photography to investigate particular territories in order to reflect on and discuss complex perspectives on contemporary landscapes. These investigations address various levels of meaning relating to the project in question, including landscape-geographical and historical, economic, political, cultural and sociological interventions in the quickly shifting landscapes.

With Marina Ballo Charmet, Lewis Baltz, Olivo Barbieri, Andrea Botto, Michele Buda, John Davies, Paola De Pietri, Gilbert Fastenaekens, John Gossage, William Guerrieri, Guido Guidi, Axel Hütte, Gian Luca Liverani, Walter Niedermayr, Stephen Shore und Marco Signorini.

The exhibition was curated by Thomas Seelig and Urs Stahel. A cooperation with Linea di Confine, Rubiera, and Biblioteca Panizzi, Reggio Emilia and SK Stiftung Kultur,Cologne.

Main sponsor: Banco del Gottardo, Lugano

More
Less

Buy catalogue

Vergangene Ausstellung

Trans Emilia – Sammlung Linea di Confine: Territoriales Erkunden der Emilia-Romagna

22.10.2005–12.02.2006

Mehr
Weniger

Klingende Städtenamen verbinden sich mit der Region Emilia-Romagna. Entlang der über zweitausend Jahre alten Römerstrasse Via Emilia und heute der schnurgeraden, mehrspurigen Autobahn A1 von Mailand nach Bologna reihen sich Städte auf wie Piacenza im Nordwesten und die in der flachen Tiefebene des nahen Po gelegenen Parma, Modena und Bologna, sowie weiter südöstlich an der Adriaküste Rimini und Ravenna. Sie alle sind Marksteine einer landschaftlich, kulturell und wirtschaftlich erstaunlich vielfältigen Region, die sich zwischen der Lombardei und Venetien im Norden und der Toskana im Süden erstreckt.

Leider wird sie von Italienreisenden oft nur im rasenden Transit wahrgenommen. Die bald fertig gestellte Hochgeschwindigkeitstrecke der italie­nischen Bahn von Mailand nach Bologna wird ein weiteres Mal die rasche Durch­querung dieser Region vorantreiben, mit unterschiedlichen Auswirkungen: Ortschaften wie Reggio Emilia eröffnen sich durch die verkehrstechnische Anbindung an die grossen italienischen Wirtschaftszentren neue, zukunftsweisende Perspektiven, andere Orte dürften wohl langsam an strategischer Bedeutung verlieren.

Das Projekt Linea di Confine (Grenzlinie) fasst verschiedenste Auftrags-Fotoprojekte zusammen, die seit 1989 auf Initiative des Kulturdezernats der Gemeinde Rubiera, nahe der Stadt Modena gelegen, lanciert wurden. International bekannte Fotografen wie Lewis Baltz, Stephen Shore, John Davies, John Gossage oder Axel Hütte wurden mit dem Auftrag in die Emilia-Romagna eingeladen, topografische Recherchen zu unternehmen und in Workshops mit jungen italieni­schen Fotografen und Fotografinnen thematisch formulierte künstlerische Projekte zu regionalen Themen zu veranstalten. Seit nun fünfzehn Jahren ist es Ziel von Linea di Confine, mit dem Medium der Fotografie ein bestimmtes Territorium zu befragen. Diese Befra­gungen setzten je nach Projekt auf verschiedenen Bedeutungsebenen an: entweder sind es landschaftlich-geografische oder historische, ökonomische, politische, kulturelle und soziologische Zugriffe auf die sich schnell wandelnden Landschaften.

Mit den FotografInnen Marina Ballo Charmet, Lewis Baltz, Olivo Barbieri, Andrea Botto, Michele Buda, John Davies, Paola De Pietri, Gilbert Fastenaekens, John Gossage, William Guerrieri, Guido Guidi, Axel Hütte, Gian Luca Liverani, Walter Niedermayr, Stephen Shore und Marco Signorini.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Thomas Seelig und Urs Stahel kuratiert. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit Linea di Confine, Rubiera, und Biblioteca Panizzi, Reggio Emilia und SK Stiftung Kultur, Köln.

Hauptsponsor: Banco del Gottardo, Lugano

Mehr
Weniger

Katalog kaufen