Past exhibition

Real Fantasies – New Photography from Switzerland

04.03.–21.05.2006

More
Less

What is the status of photography in the Swiss art scene at the beginning of the new millennium? How do young artists work with this medium nowadays? How do they handle the now familiar digitalization and mediatization, the increasingly abstract nature of the world, and the advancing revocation of direct perception? What are the themes that concern them?

In 1999, Fotomuseum Winterthur introduced a series of young photographers under the title Young - New Photography in Swiss Art; since then, a remarkable number of new photographers have been added to their ranks.  Fotomuseum Winterthur therefore presented a second exhibition on the theme of contemporary photographic art in Switzerland that focuses on world reconnaissance, constructions of reality, and explorations of the world of the self. The recurring motif of the exhibition is the mingling of reality and fiction with fantastic realities and real fantasies.

With Cristian Andersen, Ruth Blesi, Collectif_Fact, Marianne Engel, Klodin Erb / Eliane Rutishauser, Serge Frühauf, Goran Galic / Gian-Reto Gredig, Anna Kanai, Körner Union, Hendrikje Kühne / Beat Klein, Florence Lacroix, Loan Nguyen, Marco Poloni, Katja Richter, Rockmaster K, Daniel Schibli, Christian Schwager, Shirana Shahbazi, Nele Stecher, Christian Waldvogel and Herbert Weber.

The exhibition was curated by Thomas Seelig and Urs Stahel.  

Main sponsor: Swiss Re

More
Less

Buy catalogue

Vergangene Ausstellung

Reale Fantasien – Neue Fotografie aus der Schweiz

04.03.–21.05.2006

Mehr
Weniger

Wo steht die Fotografie in der Schweizer Kunst am Anfang des neuen Jahrtausends? Wie arbeiten die jungen Künstler und Künstlerinnen heute mit diesem Medium? Wie gehen sie mit der inzwischen Alltag gewordenen Digitalisierung und Mediatisierung, wie mit dem Abstrakterwerden der Welt und wie mit dem zunehmenden Entzug der direkten Wahrnehmung um? Welche Themen beschäftigen sie?

1999 stellte das Fotomuseum Winterthur unter dem Titel Young – Neue Fotografie in der Schweizer Kunst eine Reihe von jungen FotografInnen vor, seither sind aussergewöhnlich viele neue, lebendige Positionen dazu gekommen. Das Fotomuseum Winterthur stellte deshalb eine zweite Ausstellung zum Thema der zeitgenössischen Fotokunst in der Schweiz zusammen, die Felder wie Welterkundungen, Wirklichkeitskonstruktionen und Ich-Welten ins Zentrum der Betrachtung rücken. Das Verfliessen von Realität und Fiktion zu fantastischen Wirklichkeiten und realen Fantasien ist dabei Leitfaden.

Mit Cristian Andersen, Ruth Blesi, Collectif_Fact, Marianne Engel, Klodin Erb / Eliane Rutishauser, Serge Frühauf, Goran Galic / Gian-Reto Gredig, Anna Kanai, Körner Union, Hendrikje Kühne / Beat Klein, Florence Lacroix, Loan Nguyen, Marco Poloni, Katja Richter, Rockmaster K, Daniel Schibli, Christian Schwager, Shirana Shahbazi, Nele Stecher, Christian Waldvogel und Herbert Weber.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Thomas Seelig und Urs Stahel kuratiert.

Hauptsponsor: Swiss Re

Mehr
Weniger

Katalog kaufen