Past exhibition

David Goldblatt – South African Photographs 1952–2006

03.03.–20.05.2007

More
Less

David Goldblatt's photographic projects are all set in and deal with South Africa, and they are all occupied with the people, the work, the social constellations and the constructed and natural spaces of this country. They depict all this in a direct, tangible and concrete here and now, which is at the same time permeated by an awareness of the history, the structures and the balance of power from which the immediate present emerges in this country.

In the series about mines and miners the closely-woven portrait of the Boers, also known as Afrikaners, the portrait of a small town inhabited by middle class white people, the vivid visualisation of the black people's excessively long way to work, the large-scale project on housing, shops and churches as “sculpted in stone” social structures, right up to the series of close-ups, the cropped images of gestures and attitudes and on to the new South Africa, to the colour photographs of urban officials, new work forms, the streets of Johannesburg and the constellations in the country: David Goldblatt (*1930 in Randfontein), as an exemplary documentary photographer, has explored the violent, conflict-torn history of his country, constantly focusing on the political and sociological development of South African society, the social disunity and the turbulent political events during apartheid.

With this large-scale retrospective, Fotomuseum Winterthur pays tribute to the photographic work of David Goldblatt, winner of the Hasselblad Award 2006, the most important international prize for photography.

The exhibition was curated by Martni Parr and Urs Stahel. A cooperation with the Rencontres internationales de la photographie, Arles.

Main sponsor: Stanley Thomas Johnson Foundation

More
Less

Buy catalogue

Vergangene Ausstellung

David Goldblatt – Südafrikanische Fotografien 1952–2006

03.03.–20.05.2007

Mehr
Weniger

David Goldblatts Fotoprojekte spielen alle in Südafrika, handeln alle von Südafrika, beschäftigen sich mit den Menschen, der Arbeit, den gesellschaftlichen Konstellationen, mit dem gebauten und dem natürlichen Raum dieses Landes. Sie thematisieren dies alles jeweils in einem direkten, greifbaren, konkreten Hier und Jetzt, gleichzeitig durchdrungen vom Bewusstsein für die Geschichte, die Strukturen, die Machtverhältnisse in diesem Land.

In den Serien über die Minen und Minenarbeiter, dem dichten Porträt der Buren, dem Porträt einer Kleinstadt für mittelständische Weisse, der eindringlichen Visualisierung überlanger Arbeitswege für Schwarze, dem Projekt über Wohnhäuser, Geschäfte, Kirchen als gebaute, „in Stein gehauene“ gesellschaftliche Strukturen bis hin zur Serie der Close-Ups, der ausschnitthaften Nahaufnahmen von Gesten und Haltungen und weiter zum neuen Südafrika, zu den Farbfotografien von städtischen Beamten, den Strassen Johannesburgs und den Konstellationen auf dem Land: David Goldblatt (*1930) hat sich in exemplarischer und auch sehr eigener Weise als Dokumentarfotograf mit der konfliktreichen und gewalttätigen Geschichte seines Landes auseinandergesetzt und dabei seinen Blick auf die grosse gesellschaftliche Zerrissenheit während der Apartheid gerichtet.

Das Fotomuseum Winterthur würdigt mit einer grossen Retrospektive das fotografische Schaffen von David Goldblatt, dem Preisträger des Hasselblad Award 2006, des bedeutendsten internationalen Fotopreises.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Martin Parr und Urs Stahel kuratiert. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit den Rencontres internationales de la photographie, Arles.

Hauptsponsor: Stanley Thomas Johnson Stiftung

Mehr
Weniger

Katalog kaufen