Past exhibition

Towards a New Ease – Set 4 from the Collection of the Fotomuseum Winterthur

03.03.–14.10.2007

More
Less

For several decades, women were virtually compelled to occupy themselves primarily with themes relating to their own situation in art and the world, and thus to create a (feminist) expression in contemporary art. This was the only way, through intensive self-reflection and power analysis, that they stood a chance of being noticed. This is why the women's art of the past 30 to 40 years is so intensively bound up with the concepts of identity and gender. Representative of this are artists such as VALIE EXPORT, Cindy Sherman and Rosemarie Trockel.

The exhibition Towards a New Ease – Set 4 from the Collection of the Fotomuseum Winterthur wants gently to ring in a new everyday life. It introduces work by a series of women in a joint exhibition, thus creating once again a communal rhetoric framework, whereby generations, formats, attitudes and approaches are mixed up together, and the exhibited works no longer revolve exclusively around the areas mentioned but demonstrate new, different ways that are now embarked upon by women in a natural way.

With works by Suky Best, Tacita Dean, Antje Dorn, Andrea Gohl, Nan Goldin, Nanna Hänninen, Annika von Hausswolff, Roni Horn, Valérie Jouve, Annette Kisling, Phoebe Maas, Leonore Mau, Annette Messager, Marianne Müller, Elisabeth Neudörfl, Ulrike Ottinger, Martha Rosler, Yoshiko Seino, Ann-Sofi Sidén and Pernilla Zetterman.

The exhibition was curated by Thomas Seelig.

More
Less

Buy catalogue

Vergangene Ausstellung

Wege zur Selbstverständlichkeit – Set 4 aus der Sammlung des Fotomuseum Winterthur

03.03.–14.10.2007

Mehr
Weniger

Einige Dekaden lang waren Frauen fast gezwungen, sich vornehmlich mit Frauenthemen, mit der Thematisierung ihrer eigenen Situation in der Kunst und in der Welt eine (feministische) Stimme in der zeitgenössischen Kunst zu verschaffen. Nur so, mit intensiver Selbstreflexion und Machtanalyse, hatten sie eine Chance, wahrgenommen zu werden. Deshalb ist Frauenkunst der vergangenen 30 bis 40 Jahre so stark mit den Begriffen Identität und Gender verbunden. Stellvertretend dafür können Künstlerinnen wie VALIE EXPORT, Cindy Sherman oder Rosemarie Trockel genannt werden.

Die Ausstellung Wege zur Selbstverständlichkeit – Set 4 aus der Sammlung des Fotomuseum Winterthur will nun mit feiner Glocke den Alltag einläuten. Sie stellt eine Reihe von Frauen in einer gemeinsamen Ausstellung vor, schafft in diesem Sinne nochmals einen gemeinsamen rhetorischen Rahmen, jedoch kreisen die ausgestellten Werke nicht mehr nur um die genannten Felder, vielmehr werden Generationen, Formate, Haltungen und Herangehensweisen gemischt und es werden neue, andere Wege aufgezeigt, die heute von Frauen in selbstverständlicher Weise begangen werden.

Mit Werken von Suky Best, Tacita Dean, Antje Dorn, Andrea Gohl, Nan Goldin, Nanna Hänninen, Annika von Hausswolff, Roni Horn, Valérie Jouve, Annette Kisling, Phoebe Maas, Leonore Mau, Annette Messager, Marianne Müller, Elisabeth Neudörfl, Ulrike Ottinger, Martha Rosler, Yoshiko Seino, Ann-Sofie Sidén und Pernilla Zetterman.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Thomas Seelig kuratiert.

Mehr
Weniger

Katalog kaufen