Past exhibition

Jedermann Collection – Set 5 from the Fotomuseum Winterthur Collection

01.03.–12.10.2008

More
Less

Last year, Fotomuseum Winterthur acquired the high-caliber American Jedermann Collection, which comprises 177 works by 62 artists with a total of 340 photographs. The list of artists reads like a “Who's Who” of contemporary art and photography. The main part of the collection is focused on the conceptual photography of the 1960s and 70s, with works by Vito Acconci, John Baldessari, Bernd & Hilla Becher, Victor Burgin, Hamish Fulton, Michael Heizer, Richard Long, Gordon Matta-Clark, Sol LeWitt, Robert Smithson and many others.

A second part comprises the media-reflecting, post-modern photography of the 1980s with works by Barbara Bloom, Louise Lawler, Cindy Sherman and many others who explored the effects of the mass media such as the cinema, magazines, advertising etc. on our society. This purchase has considerably increased the profile of the collection of Fotomuseum Winterthur. The exhibition Jedermann Collection presents central artistic positions of the 20th century, of land art, concept art and appropriation art.

The purchase of the Jedermann Collection was made possible by substantial contributions from the following foundations, firms and private persons: Artephila Foundation, Volkart Foundation, Georg and Bertha Schwyzer-Winiker Foundation, Hulda and Gustav Zumsteg Foundation, Baugarten Foundation, Hans Barlach/Claus Grossner, Maja Hoffmann (Luma Foundation), Thomas Koerfer and Ringier AG.

The exhibition was curated by Thomas Seelig and Urs Stahel.

Main sponsor: Swiss Re

More
Less

Buy catalogue

Vergangene Ausstellung

Jedermann Collection – Set 5 aus der Sammlung des Fotomuseum Winterthur

01.03.–12.10.2008

Mehr
Weniger

Das Fotomuseum Winterthur konnte im vergangenen Jahr die hochkarätige amerikanische Jedermann Collection erwerben. Sie umfasst 177 Werke von 62 KünstlerInnen mit total 340 Fotografien. Die Künstlerliste liest sich wie ein „Who is Who“ der zeitgenössischen Kunst und Fotografie. Der Hauptteil der Sammlung konzentriert sich auf die konzeptionelle Fotografie der sechziger und siebziger Jahre, mit Werken von Vito Acconci, John Baldessari, Bernd & Hilla Becher, Victor Burgin, Hamish Fulton, Michael Heizer, Richard Long, Gordon Matta-Clark, Sol LeWitt, Robert Smithson u.v.m.

Ein zweiter Teil umfasst die medienreflektierende, postmoderne Fotografie der achtziger Jahre mit Werken von Barbara Bloom, Sarah Charlesworth, Louise Lawler, Sherrie Levine, Cindy Sherman und Elaine Sturtevant u.v.m., die das Einwirken der Massenmedien wie Kino, Zeitschriften, Werbung usw. auf unsere Gesellschaft untersuchten. Dieser Ankauf stärkt das Profil der Sammlung des Fotomuseum Winterthur entscheidend. Die Ausstellung Jedermann Collection präsentiert zentrale künstlerische Positionen des 20. Jahrhunderts, der Land Art, Concept Art und der Appropriation Art.

Der Ankauf der Jedermann Collection ist möglich geworden durch namhafte Beiträge von folgenden Stiftungen, Firmen und Privatpersonen: Artephila Stiftung, Volkart Stiftung, Georg und Bertha Schwyzer-Winiker Stiftung, Hulda und Gustav Zumsteg Stiftung, Baugarten Stiftung, Hans Barlach/Claus Grossner, Maja Hoffmann (Luma Stiftung), Thomas Koerfer und Ringier AG.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Thomas Seelig und Urs Stahel kuratiert.

Hauptsponsor: Swiss Re

Mehr
Weniger

Katalog kaufen