Past exhibition

Sergey Bratkov – Glory Days

07.06.–24.08.2008

More
Less

Five years after our retrospective exhibition of Ukrainian artist Boris Mikhailov (in 2003) Fotomuseum Winterthur presented another leading Russian-Ukrainian artist of the next generation: Sergey Bratkov (born 1960). The exhibition included some 130 works, giving a deep insight into Bratkov's photographic oeuvre since 1990. Socially critical, politically motivated and yet with a lyrical edge, his photographs are a direct and at times unsparing portrayal of everyday life since the collapse of the Soviet Union.

Bratkov, who was born in the Ukrainian industrial city of Kharkov, lays bare the obsolete ideological clichés of the Soviet era and the newfound muscle-flexing capitalist drive of the east in scenes that occasionally evoke a strident theatre of the new reality. His documentary portraits of secretaries, soldiers, former seamen, steelworkers, homeless children and women who want to start a family cite the hallmarks of socialism by ostensibly classifying individuals in stereotype images. But what Sergey Bratkov seeks in his portraiture is not the conformity of the group, behind which the individual might be able to hide. Instead, his photographs launch a provocative jibe at post-Soviet society by deliberately flouting aesthetic and moral taboos. By heightening the scenes he observes with irony and subjectivity, Sergey Bratkov invents a new form of Socialist Realism in his photographs, unmasking critical socialism as fictitious and ideologically defunct.

The exhibition was curated by Thomas Seelig. A cooperation with La Virreina Exposiciones, Barcelona, Institut de Cultura de Barcelona, the Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston, and FOAM Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam.

Main sponsor: Vontobel Foundation

More
Less

Buy catalogue

Vergangene Ausstellung

Sergey Bratkov – Heldenzeiten

07.06.–24.08.2008

Mehr
Weniger

Nach der Retrospektive von Boris Mikhailov fünf Jahre zuvor (2003) stellte das Fotomuseum Winterthur mit Sergey Bratkov (*1960) einen weiteren wichtigen russisch-ukrainischen Künstler der nachfolgenden Generation vor. Mit ca. 130 Werken gibt die Ausstellung einen tiefen Einblick in das fotografische Schaffen Bratkovs seit Anfang der 1990er Jahre, das sozialkritisch, politisch und gleichzeitig von Poesie durchdrungen ist. Eine direkte, manchmal schonungslose Darstellung des Alltags und des Zusammenlebens nach dem Niedergang der Sowjetunion zieht sich als roter Faden durch das Werk und mischt sich zu einem bisweilen schrillen Theater der neuen Realität.

Der in der ukrainischen Industriestadt Kharkov aufgewachsene Bratkov legt in seinen Bildserien die ideologisch überkommenen Klischees der Sowjetzeit ebenso offen wie den neuen Habitus des kraftstrotzenden Ostkapitalismus. Seine dokumentarischen Porträtserien über Sekretärinnen, Soldatinnen und ehemalige Seefahrer, über Stahlarbeiter, obdachlose Kinder oder Frauen mit Kinderwunsch zitieren die sozialistische Bildsprache, indem sie den Menschen in Stereotype einzuordnen vorgibt. Sergey Bratkov sucht in seinen „Heldendarstellungen“ nicht die Konformität der Gruppe, hinter der sich das Individuum verstecken könnte, sondern provoziert vielmehr durch gezielte Grenzüberschreitungen von moralischen und geschmacklichen Tabus. In zuweilen ironischen Zuspitzungen erfindet Sergey Bratkov eine neue Form des sozialen Realismus in fotografischen Bildern und demaskiert den kritischen Sozialismus als ideologisch überkommene Fiktion.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Thomas Seelig kuratiert. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit La Virreina Exposiciones, Barcelona, Institut de Cultura de Barcelona, dem Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston, und FOAM Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam.

Hauptsponsor: Vontobel-Stiftung

Mehr
Weniger

Katalog kaufen