Past exhibition

Walter Pfeiffer – In Love With Beauty

29.11.2008–15.02.2009

More
Less

An underground classic for years, Walter Pfeiffer has developed a unique blend of eroticism and wit, classical serenity and ornamental playfulness, artifice and immediacy that has begun to garner major international attention in the past few years. Fotomuseum Winterthur presented an unprecedented chronological overview of Pfeiffer's photographic work, spanning four decades from his beginnings in the early 1970s to his most recent work.

Initially a painter, draughtsman and graphic designer, Walter Pfeiffer (*1946) started to use photographs as aide-memoirs while working on large-scale photorealist pencil drawings in the early 1970s. But soon Pfeiffer developed a genuine passion for photography. Stimulated by a cast of handsome drifters and stylish women, his very own personal Warhol-inspired “Factory,” he began to carve out his trademark style that testifies to both his desire for timeless beauty and his precise observation of the permutations of fashion and style.

His breakthrough as a photographer was a series of images of a young man in drag that was included in Jean-Christophe Amman's seminal Transformer exhibition in 1974. In 1981, he published his book Walter Pfeiffer, whose cheeky eroticism and raw immediacy was in perfect tune with the Punk/Wave movement. For most of the 1980s, Pfeiffer embarked on a quest for male beauty that culminated in Das Auge, die Gedanken, unentwegt wandernd (The Eye, Thoughts, Unswervingly Wandering), a 1986 series of b/w close-up portraits of young men, whose elegant reduction was the result of years of study and experimentation. Subsequently, Pfeiffer dedicated himself to drawing for a number of years, only to return to photography in the late 1990s. In 2001, he published Welcome Aboard, an overview of recent and past photographs, which proved that he has remained as youthful and exuberant as ever.

The exhibition was curated by Martin Jaeggi and Thomas Seelig.

Main sponsor: Bundesamt für Kultur

More
Less

Buy catalogue

Vergangene Ausstellung

Walter Pfeiffer – In Love With Beauty

29.11.2008–15.02.2009

Mehr
Weniger

Walter Pfeiffer ist schon lange ein Untergrundklassiker. Seine einzigartige Mischung von Erotik und Witz, klassischem Ebenmass und ornamentaler Verspieltheit, Künstlichkeit und Unmittelbarkeit fand in den letzten Jahren zusehends internationale Beachtung. Das Fotomuseum Winterthur präsentierte eine chronologische Übersicht von Pfeiffers fotografischem Schaffen über vier Jahrzehnte, von den frühen 1970er Jahren zu seinen jüngsten Werken.

Walter Pfeiffer (*1946 Beggingen, lebt in Zürich) verwendete seine Fotografien anfänglich als Gedächtnisstützen für seine grossformatigen fotorealistischen Bleistiftzeichnungen. Aber bald schon entwickelte er eine genuine Leidenschaft für die Fotografie. Angeregt von einer Entourage von hübschen Streunern und schicken Frauen, seiner ganz eigenen, Warhol-inspirierten „Factory“, begann er seinen unverwechselbaren Stil zu prägen, der sowohl von seiner Sehnsucht nach zeitloser Schönheit wie von seiner präzisen Beobachtung der Wandlungen von Mode und Stil zeugt.

Seinen Durchbruch als Fotograf markierte eine Reihe von Fotografien eines jungen Mannes in Frauenkleidern und Schminke, die 1974 in Jean-Christophe Ammanns legendärer Ausstellung Transformer - Aspekte der Travestie gezeigt wurde. 1981 veröffentlichte er sein Buch Walter Pfeiffer, dessen freche Erotik und ungekünstelte Unmittelbarkeit in perfektem Einklang mit der Punk-/Wave-Bewegung standen. Den Grossteil der 1980er Jahre widmete sich Pfeiffer der Suche nach seinem Ideal männlicher Schönheit, die 1986 in der Ausstellung Das Auge, die Gedanken, unentwegt wandernd gipfeln sollte. Danach widmete sich Pfeiffer einige Jahre lang dem Zeichnen und begann erst in den späten 1990er Jahren wieder ausgiebig zu fotografieren. 2001 erschien das Buch Welcome Aboard, eine Zusammenstellung jüngster und älterer Fotografien, die bewies, dass Pfeiffer so jugendlich und überschwänglich wie je geblieben war.

Die Ausstellung wurde kuratiert von Martin Jaeggi und Thomas Seelig.

Hauptsponsor: Bundesamt für Kultur

Mehr
Weniger

Katalog kaufen