Past exhibition

Printed Matter – Set 6 from the Collection of the Fotomuseum Winterthur

28.02.–11.10.2009

More
Less

The exhibition Printed Matter – Set 6 from the Collection of Fotomuseum Winterthur focuses on small publications, artists' posters and photographic books from the past 40 years and sets a counterpoint to the large photographic cycles and tableaux that are the mainstay of the Fotomuseum Winterthur Collection. It was only a matter of time before photographers and artists began to explore the aesthetic possibilities of the print media by deploying the visual structures of newspapers and books in their own works.

Initially the preserve of conceptual artists such as Ed Ruscha or Hans-Peter Feldmann with their small, unprepossessing publications, now there are many photographers and artists who produce such “printed matter”. Michel François and Lidwien van de Ven, for instance, reproduce their photographs in advertising poster format and display them directly on the wall. Other photographers, such as Boris Mikhailov, tend to publish their documentary or narrative photographs in the form of photo books, rather than as individual images.

Some contemporary artists also use the printed image as the basis for their own compositions: Daniele Buetti scrawls famous company logos and messages onto pictures from fashion magazines, while Suky Best uses collage to create fictional tabloid-style visual narratives and Sarah Charlesworth strips the front page photos of the Herald Tribune out of their textual surroundings, thereby highlighting the ebb and flow of interest in daily news images.

The exhibition was curated by Thomas Seelig.

More
Less

Buy catalogue

Vergangene Ausstellung

Printed Matter – Set 6 aus der Sammlung des Fotomuseum Winterthur

28.02.–11.10.2009

Mehr
Weniger

Im Mittelpunkt der Sammlungspräsentation Printed Matter – Set 6 aus der Sammlung des Fotomuseum Winterthur stehen für einmal Kleinpublikationen, Künstlerplakate und Fotobücher aus den vergangenen vierzig Jahren. Sie bilden ein Gegengewicht zu umfangreichen Bildserien und auratischen Bildtableaus, die den Kern der Sammlung des Fotomuseum Winterthur bilden. Es war nur eine Frage der Zeit, bis Fotografen und Künstler sich den Rahmenbedingungen des gedruckten Bildes in Zeitschriften und Büchern annäherten und diese Ästhetik für ihr Werk nutzbar gemacht haben.

Waren es anfangs vor allem konzeptuelle Künstler wie Ed Ruscha oder Hans-Peter Feldmann mit ihren kleinen, unscheinbaren Publikationen, produzieren heute viele Fotografen und Künstler ihre Arbeiten als Drucksachen, als „printed matter“. Michel François und Lidwien van de Ven vervielfältigen ihre Fotografien beispielsweise im Werbeposterformat und bringen diese direkt auf die Wand auf. Andere Fotografen wie Boris Mikhailov oder Daido Moriyama wiederum sehen ihr Werk weniger in Einzelbildern repräsentiert und veröffentlichen deshalb ihre dokumentarische oder erzählerische Fotografie vor allem in Form von Fotobüchern.

Das publizierte Bild ist auch Ausgangspunkt eigener Bildfindungen in der zeitgenössischen Kunst: So kratzt Daniele Buetti Logobotschaften bekannter Firmen in Bildseiten von Modezeitschriften, collagiert Suky Best im Stile der Yellow-Press erfundene Bildgeschichten oder befreit Sarah Charlesworth die Frontseiten der Herald Tribune von jeglichem Lauftext und stellt so das an- und abschwellende Interesse von tagesaktuellen Bildern heraus.

Die Ausstellung wurde kuratiert von Thomas Seelig.

Mehr
Weniger

Katalog kaufen