Past exhibition

Karaoke – Photographic Quotes

24.10.2009–07.02.2010

More
Less

Seems familiar? We are constantly bombarded by images and information – at school, at work, in newspapers and on the web. All of these stimuli carry a multitude of underlying codes. Day in and day out, we navigate our way, more or less successfully, through a torrent of texts and images, subtle advertising messages and hard facts, official instructions and personal messages. New and long-established media alike vie for our undivided attention.

What we tend to overlook is the fact that we are increasingly subject to a second, media-dominated reality in which we are no longer directly involved. The exhibition Karaoke – Photographic Quotes with works by Becky Beasley (GB), Thomas Galler (CH), Aneta Grzeszykowska (PL), Thomas Julier (CH), Anja Manfredi (A), Ryan McGinley (USA), Taiyo Onorato & Nico Krebs (CH), Clunie Reid (GB) and Oliver Sieber (D) explores this densely woven tapestry of direct and indirect experience, of immediate and mediated seeing.

The exhibition quietly flags up the relationships and juxtapositions that permeate our casual, everyday navigation of parallel worlds. The young generation of artists presented here deploy hybrid imagery, montage and appropriation, while at the same time expressing a keen and critical awareness of their social and artistic origins. Drawing their inspiration from the same highly charged interaction between found images and creative originality that was the driving force behind modernism right from the start, these young artists use visual elements of performance, installation and cinema to map out new territory in contemporary art photography.

The exhibition was curated by Thomas Seelig. A cooperation with the Fotohof Salzburg.

Main sponsor: UBS

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

Karaoke – Bildformen des Zitats

24.10.2009–07.02.2010

Mehr
Weniger

So oder ähnlich schon gesehen? Ungezählte Reize, Informationen und Bilder prasseln auf uns ein: in der Schule oder im Beruf, in Zeitschriften oder im Internet. Sie alle sind von einer Vielzahl unterschwelliger Codes durchdrungen. Mehr oder weniger erfolgreich navigieren wir in Wort und Bild täglich zwischen subtilen Werbebotschaften und harten Fakten, zwischen behördlichen Warnungen und privaten Kurzmitteilungen hin und her. Neben den klassischen gewähren wir natürlich auch den neuen Medien mit ihren ausufernden Angeboten unsere ganze Aufmerksamkeit.

Aus dem Blick gerät, dass wir vermehrt von einer „zweiten“, einer medialen Realität durchdrungen sind, die wir nicht mehr als direkt Beteiligte erfahren. Die Ausstellung Karaoke – Bildformen des Zitats mit Werken von Becky Beasley (GB), Thomas Galler (CH), Aneta Grzeszykowska (PL), Thomas Julier (CH), Anja Manfredi (A), Ryan McGinley (USA), Taiyo Onorato & Nico Krebs (CH), Clunie Reid (GB) und Oliver Sieber (D) untersucht dieses enge Geflecht von Erlebtem und Nacherlebtem, von direkt und vermittelt Gesehenem, Erfahrenem.

Die Ausstellung zeigt in leise gesetzten Bezügen und Nachbarschaften auf, wie wir uns spielerisch und ganz selbstverständlich in parallelen Welten bewegen. Die hier vorgestellte junge Generation von Bildermachern arbeitet dabei mit hybriden Bildstrecken, Animationen und Einzelbildern zwischen eigener Bilderfindung, Montage und künstlerischer Aneignung. Gleichzeitig drücken diese Künstler ihr starkes Bewusstsein für die Herkunft, ihr kritisches Interesse an gesellschaftlichem und künstlerischem Ursprung aus. Aus dem spannungsreichen Wechselspiel eines gegebenen Bilderfundus und der eigenen Originalität, dem ursprünglichen Motor der künstlerischen Moderne, schöpfen diese jungen KünstlerInnen ihre Kraft und besetzen in performativen, installativen und filmischen Bildformen des Zitats ein neues Terrain in der künstlerischen Fotografie der Gegenwart.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Thomas Seelig kuratiert. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fotohof Salzburg.

Hauptsponsor: UBS AG

Mehr
Weniger