Past exhibition

Subversion of Images – Surrealism, Photography, Film

27.02.–23.05.2010

More
Less

The Surrealist avant-garde considered itself to be a revolutionary countermovement to the bourgeois system of values. Through new imagery, they investigated existence during the interwar period, a time of great social and political instability, and they deconstructed received ways of seeing and thinking through various artistic strategies. Photography seemed to best fulfill the Surrealists’ needs as their medium of choice. Subversion of Images –Surrealism, Photography, and Film is an extraordinarily rich survey of Surrealist photography. The exhibition comprises over 400 photographs, films, and documents: from very famous photographs by Man Ray, Hans Bellmer, Claude Cahun, Raoul Ubac, Jacques-André Boiffard, and Maurice Tabard to unknown pictures, to magazine publications, artist’s books, advertisements, to fascinating “raw, found documents,” to photo booth photographs, and group portraits of the Surrealists.

Each of the exhibition’s nine chapters focuses on a central topic of Surrealist photography. “Collective Action,” for example, follows the Surrealists’ many collective activities, their playful, yet also serious usage of snapshots and photo booth photographs. “Nonsense Theater” reveals the sensual, erotic, and sarcastic mises en scène, the enjoyment of the almost absurd miniature choreography between illusion and reality. “The Real, the Accidental, the Marvelous” deals with how the surreal is hidden in and reveals itself within reality, how “voices” resound in the night and from the walls of Paris. “Scopophilia” displays the exciting, close observation of something, until that which is familiar becomes isolated and appears strange.

The exhibition was curated by Quentin Bajac, Clément Chéroux, Guillaume Le Gall, Philippe-Alain Michaud, and Michel Poivert. A cooperation with the Centre Pompidou, Paris, and the Mapfre Foundation, Madrid.

Main sponsors: Swiss Re, Vontobel-Stiftung

More
Less

Buy catalogue

Vergangene Ausstellung

Subversion der Bilder – Surrealismus, Fotografie und Film

27.02.–23.05.2010

Mehr
Weniger

Die surrealistische Avantgarde verstand sich als revolutionäre Gegenbewegung zum bürgerlichen Wertesystem. Mit neuen Bildfindungen wurde das Dasein in der Zeit nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg und vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, also in einer Zeit grosser gesellschaftlicher und politischer Instabilität, hinterfragt und mit verschiedenen künstlerischen Strategien eingespielte Sicht- und Denkweisen dekonstruiert. Fotografie schien dabei als modernes Medium den Bedürfnissen der Surrealisten am meisten zu entsprechen. Die Ausstellung Subversion der Bilder – Surrealismus, Fotografie und Film bietet eine aussergewöhnlich reichhaltige Übersicht der surrealistischen Fotografie. Die Ausstellung umfasst mehr als 400 Fotografien, Filme und Dokumente: von berühmten Fotografien von Man Ray, Hans Bellmer, Claude Cahun, Raoul Ubac, Jacques-André Boiffard und Maurice Tabard hin zu unbekannten Bildern, zu Magazinpublikationen, Künstlerbüchern, Werbung, Automatenfotos und Gruppenbildern.

Jedes der neun Kapitel der Ausstellung fokussiert auf ein zentrales Thema der surrealistischen Fotografie. „Kollektive Aktionen“ zum Beispiel verfolgt die vielen gemeinsamen Aktionen der Surrealisten, ihr spielerischer, aber auch seriöser Umgang mit der Schnappschuss- und Automatenfotografie. „Sinnloses Theater“ deckt die lustvollen, erotischen und sarkastischen Mises-en-scène auf, die Freude an der fast absurden Kleinchoreographie zwischen Illusion und Realität. „Das Reale, das Zufällige, das Wunderbare“ thematisiert, wie sich das Surreale in der Realität verbirgt, sich in ihr offenbart, wie die Nacht und die Wände von Paris „Stimmen“ erklingen lassen. „Schau-Lust“ demonstriert das lustvolle, nahe Hinschauen, bis das Vertraute isoliert und fremd erscheint.

Die Ausstellung wurde kuratiert von Quentin Bajac, Clément Chéroux, Guillaume Le Gall, Philippe-Alain Michaud, und Michel Poivert. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Centre Pompidou, Paris, und der Mapfre Foundation, Madrid.

Hauptsponsoren der Ausstellung: Swiss Re, Vontobel-Stiftung

Mehr
Weniger

Katalog kaufen