Past exhibition

Ai Weiwei – Interlacing

28.05.–21.08.2011

More
Less

Ai Weiwei, born in 1957, the son of the poet Ai Qing, is a generalist, a conceptual, socially critical artist dedicated to creating friction with, and forming reality. As an architect, conceptual artist, sculptor, photographer, blogger, Twitterer, interview artist, and cultural critic, he is a sensitive observer of current topics and social problems: a great communicator and networker who brings life into art and art into life. For many years Ai Weiwei has been deliberately confronting social conditions in China and in the world: Through photographically documenting the architectonic clear-cutting of Beijing in the name of progress, with provocative measurements of the world, with radical cuts in the past in order to create possibilities for the present and the future, and with his tens of thousands of blog entries, blog photographs, and cell phone photographs (along with many other artistic declarations). This first, large exhibition and book project of his photography and videos focused on Ai Weiwei’s diversity, complexity, and connectedness, his “interlacing” and “networking.”

Every society on Earth needs outstanding unique figures like Ai Weiwei in order to stay awake, to be shaken awake, to be made to recognize their own obstinacy, and to be able to avoid tunnel vision. We were therefore deeply saddened that the completion of the exhibition coincided with Ai Weiwei’s arrest. We were extremely concerned about the artist. And we wish that this great thinker, designer, and fighter will remain a resistant public voice for all of us – and especially for China.

The exhibition was curated by Urs Stahel.

Main sponsors: Wegelin & Co. Private Bankers and the George Foundation. We would like to thank the Leister Foundation, the Stanley Thomas Johnson Foundation und Hunziker Betatech AG for their generous support.

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

Ai Weiwei – Interlacing

28.05.–21.08.2011

Mehr
Weniger

Ai Weiwei, 1957 als Sohn des Dichters Ai Qing geboren, ist ein generalistischer, konzeptueller, gesellschaftskritischer Künstler, verschrieben der Reibung mit und der Gestaltung von Realitäten. Er ist als Architekt, Konzeptkünstler, Bildhauer, Fotograf, Blogger, Twitterer, Interviewkünstler und politischer Aktivist ein Seismograph für aktuelle Themen und strukturelle Probleme: ein grosser Multiplikator und Kommunikator, der das Leben zur Kunst und die Kunst zum Leben führt. Seit Jahren setzt er sich bewusst mit den gesellschaftlichen Verhältnissen in China und in der Welt auseinander: mittels Dokumentationen des architektonischen Kahlschlags von Peking im Zeichen des Fortschritts, mit provokativ erscheinenden fotografischen Vermessungen der Welt, mit radikalen Schnitten an der Vergangenheit, um für die Gegenwart und Zukunft Möglichkeiten zu schaffen, und mit seinen Zehntausenden von Blogtexten, Blog- und Handy-Fotografien. Die erste grosse Fotografie- und Video-Ausstellung rückte diese Vielfältigkeit, Vielschichtigkeit, Vernetztheit von Ai Weiwei, dieses „Interlacing" und „Networking", ins Zentrum.

Jede Gesellschaft auf dieser Welt braucht zu jeder Zeit, in der Vergangenheit, der Gegenwart und der Zukunft, singuläre Figuren wie Ai Weiwei, um wach zu bleiben, um den eigenen Starrsinn zu erkennen, und um die eigene Betriebsblindheit vermeiden zu können. Wir bedauern deshalb aufs Äusserste, dass die Fertigstellung dieser Ausstellung mit der Verhaftung von Ai Weiwei zusammenfiel. Wir waren in grosser Sorge um den Künstler und wünschen, dass dieser grosse Denker, Gestalter und Kämpfer uns allen, besonders aber China, als widerständige öffentliche Stimme erhalten bleibt.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Urs Stahel kuratiert.

Hauptsponsoren der Ausstellung: Wegelin & Co. Privatbankiers und George Foundation. Wir danken der Leister Stiftung, Stanley Thomas Johnson Stiftung und Hunziker Betatech AG für die grosszügige Unterstützung.

Mehr
Weniger