Past exhibition

Cross Over – Photography of Science + Science of Photography

07.09.–17.11.2013

More
Less

Scientific images are fascinating because they show things and processes that remain hidden to the human eye. Photography makes it possible to delve ever deeper into micro- or macrocosms and capture them in images. Is photography mainly a visual research-aid for science or is it much more? Developing scientific practices have continued to place new demands on the capacities of the medium since the invention of photography in the 1830s, and have led to a continuous fine-tuning of the photographic possibilities. What is the essence of this delicate relationship between science and photography? What kind of images does science create and how should we read these photographs?

Cross Over takes a five-part look at photography's role as a visual explorer in science: The chapter "Einblick/Insight" offers a view of the microcosm, from X-ray photography to microscopic views and cloud-chamber photographs. "Ausblick/Outlook" addresses the exploration and mapping of the macrocosm, the distant and the foreign, with pictures by the NASA or ethnographic missions. Attempts to establish orders of classification, analysis, and systematization are explored in the section "Durchblick/Overview", with rapid sequences of movement or medicinal photography. "Selbstblick/Self-Examination" deals with how science represents itself in its very own ‘scientific theatre.’ In the last section of the exhibition the perspective is again inverted. "Reflektierender Blick/Self-Reflection" focuses on photography’s legibility and examines photographic parameters.

Among others with photographs by Anna Atkins, Auguste-Adolphe Bertsch, Hans Danuser, Liz Deschenes, Marion Denis, Harold Edgerton, Léon Foucault, Thomas Freiler, Bernhard Gardi, Raphael Hefti, Jules Janssen, Irène Joliot-Curie, Markus Krottendorfer, Albert Londe, Aïm Deüelle Lüski, Maschinensehen (Henning Arnecke, Lisa Bergmann, Christoph Oeschger, Elke Reinhuber), Melanie Matthieu, Aurélie Pétrel, Rodolphe Archibald Reiss, Hannes Rickli, Thomas Ruff, Adrian Sauer, Laurent Schmid, Sarah Schönfeld und Simon Starling.

The exhibition was curated by Christin Müller.

We would like to thank the Landis & Gyr Stiftung, Pro Helvetia Schweizer Kulturstiftung, Migros-Kulturprozent and STEO Stiftung for their generous support.

More
Less

Buy catalogue

Vergangene Ausstellung

Cross Over – Fotografie der Wissenschaft + Wissenschaft der Fotografie

07.09.–17.11.2013

Mehr
Weniger

Wissenschaftliche Bilder faszinieren, weil sie Dinge zeigen, die dem menschlichen Auge verborgen bleiben: Immer tiefer kann man in den Mikro- und Makrokosmos eintauchen und diese in Bildern fixieren. Dient die Fotografie in der Wissenschaft hauptsächlich als Sehhilfe der Forschenden oder geht ihre Rolle weit darüber hinaus? Seit der Erfindung der Fotografie in den 1830er Jahren resultieren aus der wissenschaftlichen Praxis stetig neue Ansprüche an Visualisierungen und ein unablässiges Herumschrauben an den Möglichkeiten des Mediums. Was macht das delikate Verhältnis zwischen Fotografie und Wissenschaft aus? Welche Bilder entstehen dabei und wie lassen sich diese Aufnahmen lesen?

Cross Over beleuchtet die Rolle der Fotografie als visuelle Erforscherin der Wissenschaften: Das Kapitel „Einblick“ schaut in den Mikrokosmos, von Röntgenfotografien über mikroskopische Aufnahmen bis hin zu Nebelkammerbildern. „Ausblick“ thematisiert die Erforschung und das Vermessen des Makrokosmos, der Ferne und des Fremden, mit Bildern der NASA oder von ethnologischen Expeditionen. Den Versuch einer Ordnungsbildung und Analyse erforscht „Durchblick“ mit Hochgeschwindigkeitsfotografien oder medizinischen Aufnahmen. Der wissenschaftlichen Inszenierung mit Hilfe der Fotografie und dem ‚Theater der Wissenschaften‘ geht das Kapitel „Selbstblick“ nach. Schliesslich kehrt die Ausstellung die Versuchsanordnung um und hinterfragt mit „Reflektierendem Blick“ die Funktionsweisen der Fotografie.

Mit Werken u.a. von Anna Atkins, Auguste-Adolphe Bertsch, Hans Danuser, Liz Deschenes, Marion Denis, Harold Edgerton, Léon Foucault, Thomas Freiler, Bernhard Gardi, Raphael Hefti, Jules Janssen, Irène Joliot-Curie, Markus Krottendorfer, Albert Londe, Aïm Deüelle Lüski, Maschinensehen (Henning Arnecke, Lisa Bergmann, Christoph Oeschger, Elke Reinhuber), Melanie Matthieu, Aurélie Pétrel, Rodolphe Archibald Reiss, Hannes Rickli, Thomas Ruff, Adrian Sauer, Laurent Schmid, Sarah Schönfeld und Simon Starling.

Die Ausstellung wurde kuratiert von Christin Müller.

Wir bedanken uns bei Landis & Gyr Stiftung, Pro Helvetia Schweizer Kulturstiftung, Migros-Kulturprozent und STEO Stiftung für die grosszügige Unterstützung.

Mehr
Weniger

Katalog kaufen