Past exhibition

Peter Piller – Document Control

13.12.2014–22.02.2015

More
Less

In the mid 1990s the German artist Peter Piller worked at a Hamburg press agency while studying art. His job was to collect clippings and monitor where and how the paid ads of regional advertising clients and companies actually appeared in print. Like Richard Prince during his job at the Time Life Company (which provided the source of inspiration for his now world-famous Cowboys series), Peter Piller discovered particular photographs while daily surveying the press, which he then set aside and organized into categories, such as Auto Berühren (Touching Car), Noch ist nichts zu sehen (Bauerwartungsflächen) (Nothing Yet to Be Seen [Prospective Building Sites]), and Schiessende Mädchen (Shooting Girls). Over the years he compiled these images into his Archive Peter Piller, now comprising over 7,000 images, which the artist continues to investigate by sorting and arranging the images into different thematic series. With the exhibition Document Control Fotomuseum Winterthur offered a look into this extensive archive.

In Piller’s work the relationship between image and text is an important criteria for the classification of photographs. Where others might not notice anything particular, through repeated, concentrated observation the artist has developed a delicate sensibility that allows him to discern the hidden qualities of photographs taken for ordinary purposes. Arranged in groups and coded by titles, the found or assembled visual material is thus placed in a different context; Piller thus brings the images into a different artistic order. For example, Von Erde schöner (More Beautiful from Earth) was a large installation including countless images from an archive of aerial photographs of private homes taken in the 1980s; Nimmt Schaden (Suffer Damages) stems from the digital photo archive of a Swiss insurance company and is a quiet ode to the unknown photographer. With his Peripheriewanderungen (Periphery Walks) and the series Kraft (Power) and Schlaf (Sleep) we also discovered something about Piller as a photographer. Also in this latter context, the artist focuses on the realm of everyday life, lending our profane activities and rituals a humorous dimension through his perceptions.

Peter Piller – Document Control has been developed by Fotomuseum Winterthur in cooperation with the Centre de la Photographie, Geneva. The two-part exhibition was taking place simultaneously in Winterthur and Geneva. Additional partners were the Städtische Galerie Nordhorn and the Kunsthalle Nürnberg. The accompanying publication, the first collection of texts Peter Piller’s work in book format, has been published by Walther König.

More
Less

Buy catalogue

Vergangene Ausstellung

Peter Piller – Belegkontrolle

13.12.2014–22.02.2015

Mehr
Weniger

Mitte der 1990er Jahre arbeitete der deutsche Künstler Peter Piller (*1968 in Fritzlar) während des Kunststudiums bei einer Hamburger Medienagentur. Regionale Werbekunden und Firmen liessen von ihm prüfen, wo und in welcher Form ihre geschalteten Anzeigen tatsächlich auch erschienen waren. Ähnlich wie Richard Prince während seines Jobs bei der Time Life Company (der Ursprung seiner heute weltbekannten Serie der Cowboys), stiess Peter Piller beim täglichen Durchblättern der Presse auf besondere Fotografien, die er schon bald zur Seite legte und mit Kategorien wie Auto berühren, Noch ist nichts zu sehen (Bauerwartungsflächen) oder Schiessende Mädchen versah. Über Jahre hinweg ist das bis heute über 7000 Bilder umfassende Archiv Peter Piller entstanden, das der Künstler immer wieder neu befragt und in thematische Werkgruppen sortiert und ablegt. Das Fotomuseum Winterthur bot mit der Ausstellung Belegkontrolle einen Einblick in dieses grosse Bildarchiv.

Das Verhältnis von Wort und Bild ist in Pillers Werk ein wichtiges Kriterium der Sichtung. Wo andere nichts erkennen, entwickelt der Künstler durch wiederholtes, konzentriertes Betrachten ein feines Gespür für die verborgenen Qualitäten der Gebrauchsfotografie. In Gruppen arrangiert und durch Titel kodiert, bringt Piller das gefundene oder zugespielte Bildmaterial in andere Kontexte und überführt es so in eine neue künstlerische Ordnung. Von Erde schöner beispielsweise war eine raumgreifende Installation eines Archivs unzähliger Luftbildaufnahmen von Einfamilienhäusern aus den 1980er Jahren. Nimmt Schaden ging aus dem digitalen Foto-Fundus einer Schweizer Versicherungsgesellschaft hervor und ist eine stille Ode an die unbekannten Fotografen. Mit seinen Peripheriewanderungen sowie den Serien Kraft und Schlaf lernten wir Piller aber auch als Fotografen kennen. Der Blick des Künstlers gilt hier wie dort dem täglichen Leben und gibt unseren profanen Handlungen und Ritualen einen heiteren Erkenntnisraum.

Peter Piller – Belegkontrolle entstand in Kooperation zwischen dem Fotomuseum Winterthur und dem Centre de la Photographie, Genf. Die Ausstellung fand gleichzeitig in zwei Teilen in Winterthur und Genf statt. Weitere Partner waren die Städtische Galerie Nordhorn sowie die Kunsthalle Nürnberg. Die begleitende Publikation, der erste Textband zu Peter Piller überhaupt, erschien bei der Verlagsbuchhandlung Walther König.

Mehr
Weniger

Katalog kaufen