Past exhibition

W. Eugene Smith – The Great Reportage Photographer (1918–1978)

16.01.–14.03.1999

More
Less

W. Eugene Smith is well-known, but who was he really? Was he the prophet of committed photojournalism and photo-essays for Life magazine? Was he an illusionist of the real, whose photographic productions undermined the cult of objectivity in the eyes of his contemporaries? Or was he perhaps a martyr of photography willing to fight and fight again so that photographers' images and creativity received their due, something denied them by the press of the day?

This exhibition and the book which accompanies it explore the myth of W. Eugene Smith, show his war photography, his reportages for Life (on Albert Schweitzer, Great Britain, Spanish Village etc.), his major essays on the industrial city of Pittsburgh, on Haiti and the mercury disaster in the fishing village of Minamata. It also presents a dark-poetic Smith – in his unknown “Views from the Windows”. Smith knew how to play with the shadow, the shadow with which he covered his images, the consciously dramatised view, the black “without which one could not see the world” (Aragon).

The exhibition was curated by Pierre Bonhomme. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. A cooperation with the W. Eugene Smith-Archive at the Center for Creative Photography, Tucson, Arizona, the Mission du patrimoine de la photographie, Paris, the MacManus Galleries, Dundee, the Palazzo Magnani, Reggio Emilia, and the Museu nacional d'Art de Catalunya, Barcelona. 

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

W. Eugene Smith – Der grosse Reportagefotograf (1918–1978)

16.01.–14.03.1999

Mehr
Weniger

Wer war der berühmte W. Eugene Smith wirklich? War er der Prophet des engagierten Fotojournalismus und der Foto-Essays für die Zeitschrift Life? War er der Illusionist des Realen, dessen fotografische Inszenierungen in den Augen seiner Zeitgenossen dem Kult des Objektiven Schaden zufügten? Oder war er gar der Märtyrer der Fotografie, bereit, alle Schlachten zu schlagen, damit dem Bild und der Kreativität des Fotografen der Platz gebühre, der ihnen in der damaligen Presse vorenthalten blieb?

Die Ausstellung und das begleitende Buch gehen dem Mythos W. Eugene Smith nach, zeigen seine Kriegsfotografien, seine Reportagen für die Zeitschrift Life (Über Albert Schweitzer, Grossbritannien, Spanish Village etc.), seine grossen Essays über die Industriestadt Pittsburgh, über Haiti und die Quecksilber-Katastrophe im Fischerdorf Minamata. Sie stellen aber auch einen dunkel-poetischen Smith vor - in seinen unbekannten „Sichten aus dem Fenster“. Smith wusste mit dem Schatten zu spielen, dem Schatten, mit dem er seine Bilder bedeckte, der bewusst dramatisierten Sicht, der Schwärze, „ohne die man die Welt nicht sähe“ (Aragon).

Die Ausstellung wurde von Pierre Bonhomme kuratiert. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem W. Eugene Smith-Archiv am Center for Creative Photography in Tucson, Arizona, der Mission du patrimoine de la photographie, Paris, der MacManus Galleries, Dundee, dem Palazzo Magnani, Reggio Emilia, und dem Museu nacional d'Art de Catalunya, Barcelona. 

Mehr
Weniger