Past exhibition

Andreas Gursky – Photographs 1994–1998

07.11.1998–03.01.1999

More
Less

Andreas Gursky (*1955) is said to be one of the most convincing contemporary “image makers” of the photographic medium. At first he followed the conceptual and, in part, serial methods of his teachers, Bernd & Hilla Becher. This he soon abandoned in favour of individual images with subjective motifs. His early landscapes recall Casper David Friedrich in their drama and Claude Lorrain in their composition – his scenes filled with people, on the other hand, draw on everyday life, but also speak pictorially of mass and power.

His new work is even more stringent, in form and in content: architecture, i.e. the Prada Shoe Shop, is transformed into sculptured construction, stock markets become geometrical, instrumentalised centres of capitalist power and “raves” with thousands of people metamorphose into temples of modern spirituality. Gursky's large formats present, at first glance, easily accessible perspectives of an image, which then open up into an endless microscopic cosmos upon closer examination. His photography fascinates through its precise, “picturesque” perception and the eternity of its extended moment.

The exhibition was curated by Andreas Gurksy and Veit Görner. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. A cooperation with the Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg, the Serpentine Gallery, London, the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art, Edinburgh, the Castello di Rivoli, Turin, and the Centro Cultural de Bélem, Lissabon. 

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

Andreas Gursky – Fotografien 1994–1998

07.11.1998–03.01.1999

Mehr
Weniger

Andreas Gursky (*1955) gilt als einer der überzeugendsten zeitgenössischen „Bildermacher“ mit dem Medium Fotografie. Er verfolgt zuerst die konzeptuelle und teils serielle Arbeitsmethode seiner Lehrer Bernd & Hilla Becher, gibt sie aber bald zugunsten des individuellen Bildes mit subjektiver Motivwahl auf. Seine frühen Landschaftsaufnahmen erinnern in der Dramatik manchmal an Caspar David Friedrich und in der Komposition an Claude Lorrain, seine von Menschen bevölkerten Szenarien hingegen spielen auf Alltägliches an, sprechen aber auch bildlich von Masse und Macht.

Die neuen Arbeiten folgen einer noch stärker formalen und inhaltlichen Stringenz: Architekturen, u.a. auch der Prada-Schuhladen, formen sich zu skulpturalen Baukörpern, Aktienbörsen wirken wie geometrisierte, instrumentalisierte Machtzentren des Kapitals und Raves mit Tausenden von Menschen verwandeln sich zu Tempeln heutiger Sinnsuche. Gurskys grosse Formate offenbaren auf den ersten Blick leicht erschliessbare, perspektivische Bildräume, die sich dann aber bei näherer Betrachtung zu einem unendlichen, mikroskopischen Kosmos an Details öffnen. Seine Fotografien faszinieren durch ihre präzise „malerische“ Bildauffassung und die Unendlichkeit des gedehnten Augenblicks.

Die Ausstellung wurde kuratiert von Andreas Gurksy und Veit Görner. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunstmuseum Wolfsburg, der Serpentine Gallery, London, der Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art, Edinburgh, dem Castello di Rivoli, Turin, und dem Centro Cultural de Bélem, Lissabon. 

Mehr
Weniger