Past exhibition

Nan Goldin – I`ll be your mirror

30.08.–09.11.1997

More
Less

“For me taking a picture is a way of touching somebody – it’s a caress. I’m looking with a warm eye, not a cold eye. I’m not analyzing what’s going on – I just get inspired to take a picture by the beauty and vulnerability of my friends.” The American photographer Nan Goldin has become a pioneer and model for an entire generation of photographers with her unique form of sympathetic documentation.

In New York, in the East Village and the Lower East Side in which she lived – happiness and suffering, the poetic and the painful of contemporary life meet more often here than elsewhere. The exhibition shows the euphoria and desperation of drug use, then the misery and crisis of the spread of AIDS. It reflects the collective will to survive, the struggle with loss and the opening of her circle of friends into Europe and Asia. Nan Goldin’s masterful situation images and her stirring, complex portraits from the middle of her life lead us directly into the condition humana of the end of the 20th century.

The exhibition was curated by Elisabeth Sussman. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. A cooperation with the Whitney Museum of American Arts, New York, the Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, and the Kunsthalle Wien. 

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

Nan Goldin – I`ll be your mirror

30.08.–09.11.1997

Mehr
Weniger

„Bilder zu machen ist für mich eine Art, jemanden zu berühren - eine Form von Zärtlichkeit. Ich schaue mit einem warmen, nicht einem kalten Auge. Ich analysiere nicht, was vor sich geht - ich fühle mich schlicht von der Schönheit und Verletzlichkeit meiner Freunde und Freundinnen inspiriert.“ Die amerikanische Fotografin Nan Goldin ist mit ihrer einzigartigen Form des teilnehmenden Dokumentierens Wegbereiterin und Vorbild für eine ganze Generation von Fotografen und Fotografinnen geworden.

In New York, in den East-Village- und Lower-East-Side-Kreisen, in denen sie gelebt hat, treffen Freuden und Leiden, das Poetische und Schmerzliche des heutigen Lebens heftiger aufeinander als anderswo. Die Ausstellung zeigt Euphorie und Verzweiflung des Drogenkonsums, dann Not und Krise durch die Verbreitung von Aids. Sie spiegelt den kollektiven Willen zum Überleben, den Kampf mit dem Verlust und die Öffnung des Freundeskreises nach Europa und Asien. Nan Goldins bezwingende Situationsbilder und ihre packenden, komplexen Porträts aus der Mitte ihres Lebens führen uns direkt in die conditio humana am Ende des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Elisabeth Sussman kuratiert. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Whitney Museum of American Arts, New York, dem Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, und der Kunsthalle Wien. 

Mehr
Weniger