Past exhibition

The Eye and the Camera – A History of Photography from the Collections of the Albertina in Vienna

26.06.–07.11.2004

More
Less

The imperial art collection of the Albertina in Vienna first began including the then young and controversial medium of photography as early as the 1850s. The collection was primarily devoted to views of Vienna and photographs of engravings, i.e. art reproductions. These included the oldest preserved photographic view of Vienna, a Daguerreotype by the physicist and chemist Andreas Ritter von Ettinghausen taken in 1840.

Currently, the Albertina photographic collection contains the hitherto most expensive photograph in the history of Austrian photography, Rudolf Koppitz's Composition, a section of which is reproduced overleaf. Another attraction is a photographic rocket, invented by the Saxon engineer Alfred Maul, which had a camera built into the bullet that was fired into the sky. The shutter of the camera lens opened at the vertex of the flight curve, and everything subsequently parachuted down to earth. The device was intended to detect the movements of enemy troops.

The combination of different collections and an active purchasing policy has greatly enriched the variety and value of the Albertina photographic collection. This first exhibition is divided into seven chapters that lead through the history of photography and the parallel developments of the medium's technical and photo-visual possibilities.

The exhibition was curated by Monika Faber. Realisaition in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. A collaboration with the Albertina, Vienna.

Main sponsor: PickPay

More
Less

Buy catalogue

Vergangene Ausstellung

Das Auge und der Apparat – Eine Geschichte der Fotografie aus den Sammlungen der Albertina

26.06.–07.11.2004

Mehr
Weniger

Die kaiserliche Kunstsammlung der Albertina in Wien öffnete sich früh, nämlich schon in den 1850er Jahren, dem damals noch jungen und widersprüchlich aufgenommenen Medium der Fotografie. Es wurden vor allem Ansichten Wiens und Aufnahmen von Stichen, also Kunstreproduktionen, gesammelt. Darunter auch die älteste erhaltene fotografische Ansicht Wiens, eine 1840 entstandene Daguerreotypie des Physikers und Chemikers Andreas Ritter von Ettinghausen.

Die heutige Fotosammlung der Albertina enthält auch die bisher teuerste Fotografie der österreichischen Fotogeschichte: die umseitig im leichten Ausschnitt wiedergegebene Komposition von Rudolf Koppitz. Oder den fotografischen Raketenapparat des sächsischen Ingenieurs Alfred Maul. Die Kamera ist in seiner Konstruktion Teil eines Geschosses, das in den Himmel geschossen wird. Am Scheitelpunkt der Flugkurve öffnet sich der Auslöser der Kamera und danach schwebt alles am Fallschirm zur Erde. Damit sollten Bewegungen feindlicher Truppen beobachtet werden können.

Durch Zusammenschluss verschiedener Sammlungen und durch eine aktive Ankaufspolitik ist die Fotosammlung der Albertina sehr reichhaltig geworden. Diese erste Ausstellung führt anhand der Bestände in sieben Kapiteln durch die Geschichte der Fotografie, durch die parallele Entwicklung der apparativen und der fotobildlichen Möglichkeiten.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Monika Faber kuratiert. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit der Albertina, Wien.  

Hauptsponsor der Ausstellung: PickPay

Mehr
Weniger

Katalog kaufen