Past exhibition

Photo Text Photo Text – Dialogue of Photography and Text in Contemporary Arts

12.04.–01.06.1997

More
Less

Umberto Eco has warned that we are on the way back into the Middle Ages, that we are surrendering the linguistic and discursive in favor of images which come pouring towards us emblematically. The well-known Italian linguist and author is probably right as far as every-day life is concerned, but in the arts there seems to have been a quite opposite trend in the last thirty years, namely, a strong connection between image and language, indeed a “linguistization” of art. In this exhibition, the relation of photographic images and the written word is given a comprehensive presentation for the first time.

Around 80 works from over 30 artists from Europe, the USA, and Canada have been united into a panorama of the past 30 years. The dialogue character of the exhibition makes evident that the photo-text combination as an art strategy is not a curiosity, but instead admits a view of important areas and questions of modern and contemporary art. Since the time of the Dadaists and the Constructivists, this method has been used to overcome the traditional separation of image and language. Photo and text are placed in a relation which increases the social-critical, narrative, analytical or poetic aspect of the image.

With works by Vito Acconci, Vincenzo Agnetti, John Baldessari, Robert Barry, Joseph Beuys, Heiner Blum, Victor Burgin, Willie Doherty, Bernard Faucon, Hamish Fulton, Jochen Gerz, Gilbert & George, Jenny Holzer, Douglas Huebler, Peter Hutchinson, On Kawara, Karen Knorr, Joseph Kosuth, Barbara Kruger, Ketty La Rocca, Marie-Jo Lafontaine, Louise Lawler, Jean Le Gac, Ken Lum, Urs Lüthi, Duane Michals, Maurizio Nannucci, Shirin Neshat, Laura Padgett, Giulio Paolini, Olivier Richon and Klaus Staeck.

The exhibition was curated by Peter Weiermair. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. A cooperation with the Frankfurter Kunstverein.  

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

Foto Text Foto Text – Dialog von Fotografie und Text in der Gegenwartskunst

12.04.–01.06.1997

Mehr
Weniger

Umberto Eco warnte davor, dass wir auf dem Weg sind, ins Mittelalter zurückzukehren, dass wir das Sprachliche, Diskursive aufgeben zugunsten von Bildern, die emblematisch und flutwellenartig auf uns zugeschwemmt werden. Der berühmte italienische Linguist und Schriftsteller hat vermutlich recht, was den Alltag betrifft, in der Kunst hingegen scheint sich in den vergangenen dreissig Jahren Umgekehrtes abgespielt zu haben, nämlich eine starke Verbindung von Bild und Sprache, ja eine „Versprachlichung“ von Kunst. Erstmals gilt in dieser Ausstellung der Verbindung fotografischer Bilder mit dem geschriebenen Wort eine umfangreiche Darstellung.

Rund 80 Werke von über 30 Künstlern und Künstlerinnen aus Europa, den USA und Kanada sind zu einem Panorama der vergangenen 30 Jahre vereint. Der Dialogcharakter der Ausstellung macht deutlich, dass die Foto-Text-Kombination als künstlerische Strategie nicht eine ausgefallene Praxis darstellt, sondern den Blick auf wichtige Bereiche und Fragestellungen des modernen, bzw. zeitgenössischen Kunstschaffens erlaubt. Seit dem Wirken der Dadaisten und Konstruktivisten überwindet das Verfahren die traditionelle Trennung von Bild und Sprache. Foto und Text treten in ein Spannungsverhältnis, wobei die sozialkritischen, narrativen, analytischen oder poetischen Aspekte des Bildes eine Steigerung erfahren.

Mit Werken von Vito Acconci, Vincenzo Agnetti, John Baldessari, Robert Barry, Joseph Beuys, Heiner Blum, Victor Burgin, Willie Doherty, Bernard Faucon, Hamish Fulton, Jochen Gerz, Gilbert & George, Jenny Holzer, Douglas Huebler, Peter Hutchinson, On Kawara, Karen Knorr, Joseph Kosuth, Barbara Kruger, Ketty La Rocca, Marie-Jo Lafontaine, Louise Lawler, Jean Le Gac, Ken Lum, Urs Lüthi, Duane Michals, Maurizio Nannucci, Shirin Neshat, Laura Padgett, Giulio Paolini, Olivier Richon und Klaus Staeck.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Peter Weiermair kuratiert. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Frankfurter Kunstverein. 

Mehr
Weniger