Past exhibition

Edward Weston

08.06.–18.08.1996

More
Less

Edward Weston (1886–1958) belongs to the figureheads of photography. Together with Alfred Stieglitz, Charles Sheeler, Paul Strand and Walker Evans he created the basis of American Modernism. In photography, this Modernism aims to “present” the world; that is, to no longer interpret it, romanticise it or burden it with symbolism – as was the intention in so-called pictoralism - but rather to see the thing, the object, directly and unembellished.

For the portraits, torsos, shells, paprikas, trees, cliffs and landscapes which Weston photographed, it was therefore vital that they were taken with greatest objectivity – a sort of “form follows function” – and with the greatest respect – a form of identification with nature. The desire to present the “quintessence of things”, as Weston put it, is hardly possible, however, without a little bit of transfiguration, no matter how objective the starting point. The simple object suddenly becomes a symbol of all living beings, and binds itself to the other objects to become a universal rhythm, the “secret of life”. Europe presented itself in painting, North America in photography. Those who wish to understand an important part of the American soul can do so in Edward Weston's photography. Walt Whitman, the great American poet, plays here the role of a spiritual father.

The exhibition was curated by Gilles Mora, Pierre Bonhomme, Theodore Stebbins and Karen Quinn. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. A collaboration with the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, and the Mission du Patrimoine photographique, Paris.

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

Edward Weston

08.06.–18.08.1996

Mehr
Weniger

Edward Weston (1886–1958) zählt zu den Gallionsfiguren der Fotografie. Mit Alfred Stieglitz, Charles Sheeler, Paul Strand und Walker Evans schuf er die Basis des amerikanischen Modernismus. In der Fotografie will dieser Modernismus die Welt „präsentieren“, das heisst, sie nicht mehr interpretieren, romantisieren oder symbolisch aufladen, wie das im sogenannten Piktoralismus noch Absicht gewesen war, sondern das Ding, die Sache selbst sehen, direkt und schnörkellos.

Für die Porträts, Wolken, Torsi, Muscheln, Paprika, Bäume, Felsen, Landschaften, die Weston fotografiert hat, gilt deshalb, dass sie mit grosser Sachlichkeit – einer Art „form follows function“ – und mit grossem Respekt – einer Form der Identifikation mit der Natur – aufgenommen wurden. Die „Quintessenz der Dinge“ darstellen zu wollen, wie Weston es formulierte, geht aber kaum ohne eine gewisse Verklärung, so sachlich der Ausgangspunkt sein mag. Das einfache Ding wird plötzlich zum Symbol alles Lebendigen, und es verbindet sich mit den anderen Dingen zu einem universellen Rhythmus, zum „Geheimnis des Lebens“. Europa zeigte sein Gesicht in seinen Gemälden, Nordamerika in der Fotografie. Wer einen wichtigen Teil der amerikanischen Seele begreifen will, kann dies in den Fotografien von Edward Weston tun. Walt Whitman, der grosse amerikanische Poet, ist hierfür der geistige Vater.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Gilles Mora, Pierre Bonhomme, Theodore Stebbins und Karen Quinn kuratiert. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, und der Mission du Patrimoine photographique, Paris.

Mehr
Weniger