Past exhibition

Valérie Jouve – Résonances

08.11.2002–05.01.2003

More
Less

Valérie Jouve (born in 1964) belongs to a new generation of young artists in France who have bid farewell to their country's great tradition of humanistic, reportorial photography while retaining its still useable essential elements; i.e., she photographs landscapes, and above all cityscapes and ultra-dense urban situations, in a documentary manner.

At the same time – and this often means in the same picture – she takes photographs of people in the middle of a movement, an act, a backward glance, a laugh, an appearance. Landscapes and portraits, two classical themes in painting and photography, here brought together in one picture in such a way that they constitute a choreographic scenario in and before the backdrop of documented urban space.

The collision between the staged and portrayed elements, between the metropolitan urban framework and the expressions, gestures and actions of the individual opens up a fictitious space that tastes of reality; its theme is the relationship, allusion and resonance between space and time, between man and his surroundings.

The exhibition was curated by Urs Stahel.

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

Valérie Jouve – Résonances

08.11.2002–05.01.2003

Mehr
Weniger

Valérie Jouve (geb. 1964) gehört zur neuen Generation jener KünstlerInnen in Frankreich, die sich aus der grossen Tradition humanistischer, reportierender Fotografie in ihrem Land verabschiedet haben, ohne jedoch die weiterhin brauchbaren, ohne die wesentlichen Elemente gleich mit über Bord zu werfen: Das heisst, sie fotografiert Landschaften, vor allem Stadtlandschaften, hochverdichtete urbane Situationen, und zwar in dokumentarischer Art und Weise.

Gleichzeitig – und das meint hier oft: im gleichen Bild – porträtiert sie Menschen, die sie in einer Bewegung, Handlung, einem Zurückschauen, einem Lachen, einem Auftritt festhält. Landschaft und Porträt, zwei klassische Themen in Malerei und Fotografie, hier nun so zusammen-, in ein Bild gebracht, dass sich vor und im dokumentierten städtischen Raum eine choreographierte Szenerie abspielt.

Das Aufeinanderstossen von Abgebildetem und Inszeniertem, von grossstädtischem, urbanem Rahmen und dem Ausdruck, der Geste, der Handlung eines individuellen Menschen eröffnet einen fiktiven Raum mit dem Geschmack von Realität, und thematisiert spannungsvoll das Verhältnis, das Anklingen, die Resonanzen von Raum und Zeit, vom Menschen und seiner Umgebung.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Urs Stahel kuratiert.

Mehr
Weniger