Past exhibition

Bill Brandt – Photography 1928–1983

11.11.1995–07.01.1996

More
Less

Layed out on stones on an ocean beach and photographed from an extreme perspective, the female body becomes sculpture, becomes pure form. Naked, leaning against a wooden wall, the eyes concentrating on something out of sight, the model becomes mysterious, unexplainable, a strange woman: In the 1940's, already an established photographer, Bill Brandt took up nude photography – which was to make him world famous.

Born in Hamburg in 1904, he began however – after his apprenticeship with Man Ray – with photoreportage, with a documentation of the British way of life as in Home and Darkness, with its bright social side and its dark aspects, dives, backyards, the bombshelters of the Second World War. In Shadowlands, his series of English landscapes, his surreal, dark side is most marked. His virtuoso handling of light and shadow forms fields, stones and houses into images which are to be read as metaphors for the conditions of human existence. Stonehenge, reproduced on the front side, is one of his formally most minimalist and monumental landscape photographs – here too, in this picture without people, the theme is man's isolation.

The major retrospective Bill Brandt – Photography 1928–1983 presents all the stations of his career with approximately 250 photographs: his early travel reportage and street scenes, the social documentary works on England during the Great Depression and the war, his portraits – he photographed Francis Bacon, René Magritte and T.S. Eliot among others – his nude series, fashion photography, landscapes and less well-known surrealist collages from his later years.

The exhibition was curated by Ian Jeffrey. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. A collaboration with the Barbican Art Gallery, London.

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

Bill Brandt – Fotografien 1928–1983

11.11.1995–07.01.1996

Mehr
Weniger

Hingelagert auf Steinen am Meeresstrand und aufgenommen aus extremen Perspektiven wird der weibliche Körper zur Skulptur, zur reinen Form. Nackt an einer Holzwand lehnend, den Blick auf etwas Unsichtbares konzentriert, gerät das Modell zur rätselhaften, unergründlichen, fremden Frau: Bill Brandt begann in den vierziger Jahren, damals bereits ein arrivierter Fotograf, mit der Aktfotografie – sie machte ihn schliesslich weltberühmt.

Begonnen hat der 1904 in Hamburg geborene Fotograf nach einer kurzen Lehre bei Man Ray jedoch mit Fotoreportagen, mit dem Dokumentieren des britischen Lebens als Home and Darkness, mit den heiteren, gesellschaftlichen Seiten und den düsteren Aspekten, den Spelunken, den Hinterhöfen, den Schutzkellern im Zweiten Weltkrieg. In Shadowlands, der Serie englischer Landschaften, ist seine surreale, dunkle Seite am stärksten spürbar. Licht und Schatten formen Wiesen, Steine und Häuser virtuos zu Bildern, die als Metaphern für die Bedingungen des menschlichen Seins zu betrachten sind. Stonehenge, auf der Vorderseite wiedergegeben, ist eine der formal minimalsten und monumentalsten Landschaftsaufnahmen - auch in diesen menschenleeren Bildern ist das Thema, wie oft, die Einsamkeit des Menschen.

Die grosse Retrospektive Bill Brandt – Fotografien 1928–1983 zeigt mit rund 250 Fotografien alle Stationen seiner Karriere: Seine frühen Reisereportagen und Strassenszenen, die sozialdokumentarischen Arbeiten über England während der grossen Wirtschaftskrise und des Krieges, seine Porträts – er fotografierte u.a. Francis Bacon, René Magritte oder T.S. Eliot –, die Aktserien, Modeaufnahmen, Landschaften sowie die weniger bekannten, surrealistischen Collagen der späten Jahre.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Ian Jeffrey kuratiert. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit der Barbican Art Gallery, London.

Mehr
Weniger