Past exhibition

Female Photographers in the Weimar Republic – Photographing Meant Taking Part

02.09.–28.10.1995

More
Less

The “new woman” of the 1920s – her self-discovery, her sexuality, her “thrust” into the male domain of work, her experiments with various new roles, styles and behaviour – was a sign and expression of the social and economic changes of the inter-war period, of the modern age in Germany and Europe.

This “new woman” became active, began to photograph as well, and understood the camera as a chance for a profession and self-confident participation in social life. Most remarkable were, of course, the new faces, sometimes androgynous, sometimes expressive images of women. The truly new, indeed utopian in this development was, however, the strength to take the freedom to fulfill one's desires and embodying one's aims, to change, to not become pushed into a role or become fixed.

The exhibition presents this giant step for women for the first time. Using as examples some 50 photographers, among them such famous names as Marianne Breslauer, Ilse Bing, Gisèle Freund, Florence Henri, Hannah Höch, Lotte Jacobi, Germaine Krull and Lucia Moholy, photography is presented as an important area for becoming active, for participation – in photographs which range from traditional atelier photos to avant-garde experiments, from investigative reportage to extravagant self-presentation and convention-breaking photomontage: An important and exciting supplement to existing photo history.

The exhibition was curated by Ute Eskildsen. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. A collaboration with the Folkwang Museum, Essen.

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

Fotografinnen der Weimarer Republik – Fotografieren hiess teilnehmen

02.09.–28.10.1995

Mehr
Weniger

Die „Neue Frau“ der zwanziger Jahre – ihre Selbstfindung, ihre Sexualität, ihr „Eindringen“ in die männliche Arbeitswelt, ihr Experimentieren mit verschiedenen neuen Rollen, Aufmachungen und Verhaltensweisen – war Zeichen und Ausdruck der sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Veränderungen in der Zwischenkriegszeit, der „Moderne“ Deutschlands und Europas.

Diese „Neue Frau“ wurde aktiv, begann auch zu fotografieren und begriff die Kamera als Chance zur Berufstätigkeit und zur selbstbewussten Teilnahme am gesellschaftlichen Leben. Am Auffälligsten waren selbstverständlich die neuen Gesichter, die manchmal androgynen, manchmal expressiven Frauenbilder, das wirklich Neue, ja Utopische an dieser Entwicklung war jedoch die Kraft für die Freiheit, das zu tun und zu verkörpern, was man sein will, und sich zu wandeln, sich nicht gleich wieder festzuschreiben, zu fixieren.

Die Ausstellung stellt zum ersten Mal diesen grossen Schritt der Frau vor. An Beispielen von rund 50 Fotografinnen, darunter so berühmten Namen wie Marianne Breslauer, Ilse Bing, Gisèle Freund, Florence Henri, Hannah Höch, Lotte Jacobi, Germaine Krull und Lucia Moholy, wird das Fotografieren als wichtiges Feld zum Aktivwerden, zum Teilnehmen vorgeführt – in Fotografien, die vom traditionellen Atelierbild bis zum avantgardistischen Experiment, von der erkundenden Reportage bis zur extravaganten Selbstinszenierung und konventionsbrechenden Fotomontage reichen. Eine wichtige und spannende Korrektur zur bestehenden Fotogeschichte.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Ute Eskildsen kuratiert. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Folkwang Museum, Essen.

Mehr
Weniger