Past exhibition

Trade – Commodities, Communication, and Consciousness in World Trade Today

16.06.–19.08.2001

More
Less

Since time immemorial, the world has been determined by trade and commerce. Commodities are produced and manufactured in one place, offered for sale, exchanged and bought in another, shipped, dispatched, resold and consumed in many different destinations. This seems to be a never-ending principle that has existed from the first warehouses and reshipment ports to today's wholesale trade. But the ways, volumes and values have acquired undreamed-of dimensions.

We can observe the concrete transfer of the merchandise on the water, on the roads and in the air, but it has lost much of its visual impact: rationalization and regularization have robbed trade of its charm, and containerization has neutralized its flavor and vitality. In the stock exchanges, we encounter total abstraction – abstraction of money, shares, options and figures. Together, they simulate trade volumes, trade movements and trade worlds. How can the new global trade acquire a visual form and be expressed in pictures? What are its ways? Which values does it engender, and which does it annul? These are the questions asked by the exhibition entitled Trade withworks by 60 international photographers and artists.

With Merry Alpern, Olivo Barbieri, Boris Becker, Valérie Belin, Wout Berger, Blank & Jeron, Frank Breuer, Joachim Brohm, Balthasar Burkhard, Claude Closky, Miles Coolidge, Augusto Alves da Silva, Thomas Demand, Todd Eberle, Pierre Faure / Marie-Francine Le Jalu, Peter Fischli / David Weiss, Karin Geiger, Beate Geissler / Oliver Sann, John Goto, Greenpeace, Isabelle Grosse, Andreas Gursky, Jacqueline Hassink, Romuald Hazoumé, Matthias Hoch, Dan Holdsworth, Uschi Huber, Steeve Iuncker, Annica Karlsson Rixon, Julia Knop, Neal Cummings / Marysia Lewandowska, Bettina Lockemann, Manager Magazin / Jo Jankowski, Boris Mikhailov, John Miller, Fernando Moleres, Zwelethu Mthethwa, Marianne Müller, Cat Tuong Nguyen, Ralf Peters, Nina Pohl, Marc Räder, Timm Rautert, Heiner Schilling, Florian Schwinge, Allan Sekula, Henrik Spohler, Joel Sternfeld, Sturtevant, Gerald van der Kaap, Massimo Vitali, Markus Weisbeck, Kelly Wood, World Vision / Kai Uwe Gundlach, Matthias Ziegler.

The exhibition was curated by Thomas Seelig and Urs Stahel. A cooperation with the Nederlands Foto Instituut, Rotterdam.

Main sponsor: UBS AG

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

Trade – Waren, Wege und Werte im Welthandel heute

16.06.–19.08.2001

Mehr
Weniger

Handel bestimmt seit jeher die Welt: An einem Ort wird produziert, fabriziert, an einem zweiten Ort wird angeboten, getauscht, gekauft. Dann verschifft, weiterverkauft, konsumiert – alles an vielen verschiedenen Orten. Dieses Prinzip scheint ewig zu sein, von den ersten Lager- und Umschlagplätzen bis zum heutigen Welthandel. Doch die Wege, Volumen und Werte haben eine ungeahnte Dimension erhalten.

Was man zu Wasser, auf den Strassen und in der Luft sieht, ist die konkrete Bewegung von Waren. Doch bereits diese haben stark an Anschaulichkeit verloren: Rationalisierung und Regularisierung entzogen dem Handel seinen Charme, die Containisierung neutralisierte seinen Geruch und seine Lebendigkeit. An den Börsen begegnen wir der totalen Abstraktion: des Geldes, des Wertpapiers, der Option, der Zahlen. Zusammen simulieren sie Handelsvolumina, Handelsbewegungen und Handelswelten. Wie kann der neue globale Handel visualisiert und in Bilder gefasst werden? Welche Wege nimmt er? Welche Werte werden erzeugt, welche vernichtet? Diesen Fragen stellt sich die Ausstellung Trade mit visuellen Auseinandersetzungen von 60 Künstlern und Künstlerinnen.

Werke von Merry Alpern, Olivo Barbieri, Boris Becker, Valérie Belin, Wout Berger, Blank & Jeron, Frank Breuer, Joachim Brohm, Balthasar Burkhard, Claude Closky, Miles Coolidge, Augusto Alves da Silva, Thomas Demand, Todd Eberle, Pierre Faure / Marie-Francine Le Jalu, Peter Fischli, David Weiss, Karin Geiger, Beate Geissler / Oliver Sann, John Goto, Greenpeace, Isabelle Grosse, Andreas Gursky, Jacqueline Hassink, Romuald Hazoumé, Matthias Hoch, Dan Holdsworth, Uschi Huber, Steeve Iuncker, Annica Karlsson Rixon, Julia Knop, Neal Cummings / Marysia Lewandowska, Bettina Lockemann, Manager Magazin / Jo Jankowski, Boris Mikhailov, John Miller, Fernando Moleres, Zwelethu Mthethwa, Marianne Müller, Cat Tuong Nguyen, Ralf Peters, Nina Pohl, Marc Räder, Timm Rautert, Heiner Schilling, Florian Schwinge, Allan Sekula, Henrik Spohler, Joel Sternfeld, Sturtevant, Gerald van der Kaap, Massimo Vitali, Markus Weisbeck, Kelly Wood, World Vision / Kai Uwe Gundlach, Matthias Ziegler.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Thomas Seelig und Urs Stahel kuratiert. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Nederlands Foto Instituut, Rotterdam.

Hauptsponsor: UBS AG

Mehr
Weniger