Past exhibition

Remake Berlin

11.11.–14.01.2000

More
Less

Berlin-Mitte in September 2000. In the letter boxes door-to-door deliveries from the Republicans. O-tone: “Unity and justice and freedom are increasingly threatened by 'political correctness'”. On the same day, a demonstration for the preservation of the Republican Palace by the old Socialist Unity Party of Germany and people from peripheral slab housing suffering from nostalgia for the old East Berlin.

What is Berlin? One thing is certain: today's Berlin can only be described as a collection of diverse phenomena. The words “I am a Berliner”, uttered by John F. Kennedy in 1963, are no longer valid; at best, they would have to have been altered to “I am a New Berliner”. Berlin has mutated into New Berlin, a city about whose identity and character no-one is quite sure.

For Fotomuseum's project Remake Berlin, eight international artists and six international writers were invited to work on the theme of “Berlin”. The projects by the artists are devoted to specific themes that highlight an individual view of one aspect of the city. Briefly, the subjects are the following: “The Berlin Republic” and Berlin's political past; building sites – the creation of a new centre from the ashes – and the periphery of the outskirts; club culture and multi-cultural Berlin; football, cooking, and eating in the metropolis.

With Clegg & Guttmann, Astrid Klein, Rémy Markowitsch, Boris Mikhailov, Juergen Teller, Frank Thiel, Céline van Balen and Stephen Wilks.

The exhibition was curated by Kathrin Becker and Urs Stahel. A cooperation with Neuer Berliner Kunstverein and the Recontres internationales de la photographie, Arles.

This project was co-initiated and made possible by Bank Hofmann Ltd., Zurich.

More
Less

Buy catalogue

Vergangene Ausstellung

Remake Berlin

11.11.–14.01.2000

Mehr
Weniger

Berlin-Mitte im September 2000. In den Briefkästen Postwurfsendungen der Republikaner. O-Ton: „Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit sind heute zunehmend durch 'politische Korrektheit' bedroht.“ Am selben Tag eine Demonstration der alten SED-Kader und Ostalgiker aus den randstädtischen Plattenbauten für den Erhalt des Palastes der Republik.

Was ist Berlin? Sicher ist, dass Berlin heute nur als Aneinanderreihung von Phänomenen beschrieben werden kann. Der Satz „Ich bin ein Berliner“ des Jahres 1963 von John F. Kennedy hat keine Gültigkeit mehr, oder muss allenfalls in „Ich bin ein Neu-Berliner“ umgewandelt werden. Berlin ist nunmehr das Neue Berlin geworden, von dem niemand weiss, was das genau sein könnte und was er davon halten soll.

Für das Projekt Remake Berlin des Fotomuseums Winterthur sind acht internationale Künstlerinnen und Künstler und sechs internationale Autorinnen und Autoren eingeladen worden, zum Thema „Berlin“ zu arbeiten. Die Projekte der Künstlerinnen und Künstler nehmen Bezug auf bestimmte Themen, die geeignet sind, eine Version eines möglichen Porträts der Stadt zu entwerfen. In kurzen Headlines beschrieben sind dies: Die neue 'Berliner Republik' und die Berliner Vergangenheit; Baustellen – die Kreation eines neuen Zentrums – und die Peripherie der Grossstadt; Club-Culture und Multikulturalität; Fussball, Kochen und Essen in Berlin.

Mit Clegg & Guttmann, Astrid Klein, Rémy Markowitsch, Boris Mikhailov, Juergen Teller, Frank Thiel, Céline van Balen und Stephen Wilks.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Kathrin Becker und Urs Stahel kuratiert. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Neuen Berliner Kunstverein und dem Rencontres internationales de la photographie, Arles.

Dieses Projekt wurde mitlanciert und ermöglicht durch die Bank Hofmann AG, Zürich.

Mehr
Weniger

Katalog kaufen