Past exhibition

Astrid Klein

21.01.–19.03.1995

More
Less

The black-and-white photographs by Astrid Klein often seem as if they were projected onto the surface out of the depths of space and time. They are not light in darkness, but darkness in darkness in light. From out of the blackness, graphite gray symbols emerge: for example, three figures, a pile of skulls, two daggers, cabinets, machines, or architecture. Fragments of images that are mounted within one another, layered on top of one another, and together sometimes even appear as if they were embossed.

The large-format photo works are reminiscent of photos of walls by Brassaï and Aaron Siskind, except these “frescoes in time” are not corroded into the lime, the plaster on the walls. They appear like traces of an electrical pen on a screen: dark grids, pervaded by a peculiar, directionless light. We do not look down at Astrid Klein’s pictures; rather, they come to meet us in life-size or even larger, as powerful signs. Astrid Klein employs photography in a pictorial way. The manipulated and assembled fragments of photos only distantly remind one of their origins in visible reality.

Despite all painterly-photographic intentions and considerations, the works bear titles such as Kreislauf (Circulation), Wertverschiebung (Value Shift), Eingeebnet, eingeordnet, begradigt (Leveled, Ordered, Straightened), Verführung-Sklaverei (Seduction-Slavery), Über die Zeit (About Time), Fremd (Strange), and Auswege (Exits), and reveal themselves as the results of interest in the present and history.

The exhibition was curated by Astrid Klein and Urs Stahel. A collaboration with the Saarland Museum, Saarbrücken, and the Kunsthalle Nürnberg.

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

Astrid Klein

21.01.–19.03.1995

Mehr
Weniger

Die schwarzweissen Fotobilder von Astrid Klein wirken oft wie aus der Tiefe des Raumes, der Zeit an die Oberfläche projiziert. Nicht helldunkel, sondern dunkeldunkelhell sind sie. Aus dem Schwarzen treten graphitgraue Zeichen hervor, drei Figuren zum Beispiel, ein Schädelhaufen, zwei Dolche, Schränke, Maschinen oder Architektur. Bildfragmente, die ineinandermontiert, übereinandergeschichtet werden und zusammen manchmal ausschauen als seien sie geprägt.

Die grossformatigen Fotobilder erinnern an die Mauerfotos von Brassaï und Aaron Siskind, nur haben sich diese „Fresken der Zeit“ nicht in den Kalk, den Verputz des Gemäuers eingefressen, sondern sie wirken wie die Spur eines elektronischen Stiftes auf einem Bildschirm: dunkle Rasterflächen, durchzogen von einem merkwürdigen, richtungslosen Licht. Auf Bilder von Astrid Klein schauen wir nicht herab, vielmehr treten sie uns gleich gross oder grösser als mächtige Zeichen gegenüber. Astrid Klein beansprucht einen bildmässigen Umgang mit der Fotografie. Die bearbeiteten und montierten Fotofragmente erinnern nur noch von Ferne an ihre Herkunft in der sichtbaren Wirklichkeit.

Bei allen malerisch-fotografischen Absichten und Reflexionen jedoch tragen die Arbeiten Titel wie Kreislauf, Wertverschiebung, Eingeebnet, eingeordnet, begradigt, Verführung-Sklaverei, Über die Zeit, Fremd oder Auswege und geben sich so zu erkennen als Niederschlag inhaltlicher Beschäftigung mit Gegenwart und Geschichte.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Astrid Klein und Urs Stahel kuratiert. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit Saarland Museum, Saarbrücken, und der Kunsthalle Nürnberg.

Mehr
Weniger