Past exhibition

Stranger than Paradise – Contemporary Photography from Scandinavia

19.11.1994–08.01.1995

More
Less

The original trace of a clearly defined identity, the reassuring roots in nature, family, and tradition have been wiped away – even in the Nordic countries of Europe, in which nature and family long played a formative and integrating role. The former connection has been broken multiple times. We are no longer at home in the world, and, with painful irony, we experience nature as the suburb, as if in deep freeze, as a travel destination; history, we experience as a nicely sewn together construct; the family, as a diffuse shadow theater; and ourselves, as spirals of DNA. This ironic distance stands in opposition to the Romantic yearning to overcome this separation, for clarity over fraud, for tangibility. Irony and Romanticism sometimes come into conflict with one another, but sometimes they walk hand in hand – fully aware of the irreversibility of this loss.

Steven Henry Madoff has chosen twenty contemporary photographers from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden, who all deal with the desire and bitterness, fantasy and strictness of this situation – with our present, which occasionally seems stranger than paradise.

With Tune Andersen (DK), Börkur Arnarson (IS), Tone Arstila (FI), Lill-Ann Chepstow-Lusty (NO), Dawid (SE), Dan Fröberg (SE), Jan Kaila (FI), Kapa (FI), Annica Karlsson-Rixon (SE), Patrik Karlström (SE), Timo Kelaranta (FI), Svanur Kristbergsson (IS), Leif Lindberg (SE), Kim Lykke Jørgensen (DK), Maria Miesenberger (SE), Ane Mette Ruge (DK), Marja Söderlund (FI), Erik Steffensen (DK), Per Olav Torgnesskar (NO), and Sven Westerlund (SE).

The exhibition was curated by Steven Henry Madoff. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel and Jan-Erik Lundström. A collaboration with the American-Scandinavian Foundation and the Fotografskia Museet i Moderna Museet, Stockholm. 

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

Stranger than Paradise – Zeitgenössische Fotografie aus Skandinavien

19.11.1994–08.01.1995

Mehr
Weniger

Die ursprüngliche Spur einer klar umgrenzten Identität, einer beruhigenden Einbettung in Natur, Familie und Tradition ist verwischt – auch in den nordischen Ländern Europas, in denen Natur und Familie so lange eine prägende und integrierende Rolle gespielt haben. Die einstige Fügung ist mehrfach aufgebrochen. Wir werden unheimisch in der Welt, erleben mit schmerzlicher Ironie die Natur als Vorstadt, als Tiefgefrorenes, als Reiseziel, die Geschichte als hübsch zusammengenähtes Konstrukt, die Familie als diffuses Schattentheater, unser Selbst als DNS-Spirale. Dieser ironischen Distanz steht die romantische Sehnsucht nach Überwindung dieser Spaltung, nach Klarheit nach dem Schwindel, nach Greifbarkeit der Welt gegenüber. Ironie und Romantik laufen manchmal gegeneinander auf, gehen manchmal aber auch Hand in Hand – im Wissen um den unwiederbringlichen Verlust.

Steven Henry Madoff hat aus Dänemark, Finnland, Island, Norwegen und Schweden 20 zeitgenössische Fotografen und Fotografinnen ausgewählt, die sich alle mit Lust und Bitternis, Phantasie und Strenge dieser Situation aussetzen – mit unserer Gegenwart, die bisweilen fremder als das Paradies wirkt.

Mit Tune Andersen (DK), Börkur Arnarson (IS), Tone Arstila (FI), Lill-Ann Chepstow-Lusty (NO), Dawid (SE), Dan Fröberg (SE), Jan Kaila (FI), Kapa (FI), Annica Karlsson-Rixon (SE), Patrik Karlström (SE), Timo Kelaranta (FI), Svanur Kristbergsson (IS), Leif Lindberg (SE), Kim Lykke Jørgensen (DK), Maria Miesenberger (SE), Ane Mette Ruge (DK), Marja Söderlund (FI), Erik Steffensen (DK), Per Olav Torgnesskar (NO) und Sven Westerlund (SE).

Die Ausstellung wurde von Steven Henry Madoff kuratiert. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel und Jan-Erik Lundström. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit der American-Scandinavian Foundation und dem Fotografiska Museet i Moderna Museet, Stockholm.

Mehr
Weniger