Past exhibition

Takashi Homma – Tokyo Suburbia

29.01.–26.03.2000

More
Less

Takashi Homma, born in 1962, lives and works in Tokyo. Since the mid-1990´s he has been participating in exhibitions and has brought out a series of smaller and larger publications. He also photographs for journals, including i-D, Purple Prose, Purple Fashion, Ray Gun and numerous Japanese magazines.

Like many Japanese photographers – like contemporary photography in general - Takashi Homma´s photography is colourful, loud, taken with a certain lightness, indeed nonchalance vis-à-vis the photographed object – as if it were snapped in passing, as if it were both important and trivial.

In this apparent lightness, however, Homma touches – unlike many others – the nerve of today´s society with coolness and exactitude. In his very first book, Babyland, he takes up the theme of “babyfication”. He portrayed the infantalisation of every day life and culture in girlie groups, stuffed animals, portraits and the consumer industry for the Kids-Generation. Tokyo Suburbia maintains a similar tone, although this project, that of portraying the suburbs of Tokyo, has been photographed somewhat harder, with more distance and less hope. At the edge of the cities the cracks in the social and economic structure are at their most blatant, including those between individual desires and reality.

The exhibition at the Fotomuseum Winterthur, curated by Urs Stahel, is Takashi Homma´s first museum exhibition. 

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

Takashi Homma – Tokyo Suburbia

29.01.–26.03.2000

Mehr
Weniger

Takashi Homma, 1962 geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Tokio. Seit Mitte der neunziger Jahre tritt er in Ausstellungen auf und hat eine Reihe kleinerer und grösserer Publikationen herausgegeben. Er fotografiert auch für Zeitschriften, u.a. für i-D, Purple Prose, Purple Fashion, Ray Gun und zahlreiche japanische Magazine.

Wie viele japanische Fotografen, wie gegenwärtige Fotografie ganz allgemein, fotografiert Takashi Homma farbig, bunt, mit einer gewissen Leichtigkeit, ja Nonchalance dem fotografierten Gegenstand gegenüber – als sei er im Vorbeigehen aufgeschnappt worden, als sei er wichtig und unwichtig zugleich.

In dieser scheinbaren Leichtigkeit jedoch trifft Homma, anders als viele, mit Coolness und Genauigkeit die Nervenstränge der heutigen Gesellschaft. Sein allererstes Buch Babyland greift das Thema der Babysierung auf. Es visualisiert die Babysierung des Alltäglichen und des Kulturellen an Girlie-Groups, Stofftieren, Porträts und der Konsumindustrie für die Kids-Generation. Tokyo Suburbia ist in einer ähnlichen Tonalität gehalten, auch wenn dieses Projekt, die Suburbs, die Vororte Tokios zu porträtieren, ein Stück weit härter, ausgesetzter, hoffnungsloser fotografiert ist. An den Rändern der Städte zeigen sich die Brüche im gesellschaftlichen und ökonomischen Gefüge am heftigsten, auch jene von individuellen Wünschen und der Realität.

Die von Urs Stahel kuratierte Ausstellung im Fotomuseum Winterthur ist Takashi Hommas erste Museumsausstellung. 

Mehr
Weniger