Past exhibition

Daido Moriyama – Stray Dog

29.01.–26.03.2000

More
Less

Daido Moriyama was born in 1938 in Ikeda, a town outside Osaka, only seven years before “Hiroshima” and “Nagasaki”, the atomic bomb attacks which decisively altered life and culture in Japan. After the Second Worl War—like everywhere else but much more quickly, rapidly, dramatically – in Japan there arose a clash between the old, insular, isolated tradition and a “new” Japan swiftly pervaded by Americanisms.

For Moriyama, as for many other artists, this new Japan became a central theme of his work, and the invasion of Americanisms ambivalently received as both threat and liberation, as shocking and fascinating. Moriyama´s photographs are grainy, full of hard contrasts, intentionally rough, murky, and quickly developed. These are the photographic representations of a Japanese Existentialism which had to experience a “being cast into existence” parallel with the victory march of consumerism; a photographic Existentialism which, under the influence of William Klein, Andy Warhol, of James Baldwin and Jack Kerouac, as well as of Mishima and Shuji Terayama´s experimental theatre, developed its own formal language which visualises the drama, severity, rapidity of change: An exceptional work on the Japanese transition.

The exhibition was curated by Sandra S. Phillips. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. A cooperation with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, the Japan Society Gallery, the Metropolitan Museum of Modern Art, New York, and the Folkwang Museum, Essen. 

More
Less

Buy catalogue

Vergangene Ausstellung

Daido Moriyama – Stray Dog

29.01.–26.03.2000

Mehr
Weniger

Daido Moriyama wurde 1938 in Ikeda, einer Stadt ausserhalb von Osaka geboren, nur sieben Jahre vor „Hiroshima“ und „Nagasaki“, den Atombombenabwürfen, die das Leben und die Kultur Japans einschneidend veränderten. Wie überall nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, aber viel härter, schneller, dramatischer, stiessen in Japan die Gegensätze aufeinander, zwischen der alten, insularen, isolierten Tradition und dem „neuen“ Japan, das in Windeseile von Amerikanismen durchsetzt wurde.

Für Moriyama, wie auch für viele andere Künstler, wurde dieses neue Japan zentrales Thema der Arbeit - die Invasion des Amerikanischen wird darin ambivalent als Bedrohung und Befreiung, als schockierend und faszinierend zugleich empfunden. Moriyamas Fotografien sind körnig, voller harter Kontraste, absichtlich roh, düster und nachlässig entwickelt. Sie sind das fotografische Bild eines japanischen Existenzialismus, der das „Geworfensein ins Dasein“ gleichzeitig mit dem Siegeszug des Konsumismus durchleben musste; ein fotografischer Existenzialismus, der, beeindruckt von William Klein, Andy Warhol, von James Baldwin und Jack Kerouac, aber auch von Mishima oder vom experimentellen Theater von Shuji Terayama, eine eigene Formensprache entwickelte, welche das Dramatische, Heftige, Schnelle des Wechsels visualisiert. Ein aussergewöhnliches Werk der japanischen Wende.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Sandra S. Phillips kuratiert. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, der Japan Society Gallery, New York, dem Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, und dem Folkwang Museum, Essen.

Mehr
Weniger

Katalog kaufen