Past exhibition

Industrial Image – The Eastern Swiss Economic Region from 1870 to Today

09.04.–05.06.1994

More
Less

Switzerland experienced a proud industrial period. In the archives of companies from eastern Switzerland hundreds of thousands of photographic documents are stored: of spinning mills, weaving mills, textiles, of metalworking and electrical industries, of machines, the production of clothing and food, building of streets, railroads, power plants, and factories.

These photographs are stored in the cellars of factories on glass plates, blueprints, or as careful prints, lie forgotten in shoeboxes, exposed to dust and dampness, or have been carefully archived and chronologically ordered in photo albums. Until now little attention has been paid to them. Yet they are a fantastic pool of documents from the history of our country, which convey visual information about all aspects of industry, about the modernization of Switzerland, about the innovations and production forces of the once young companies, about life in the factories, which was off-limits to outsiders, about the mentality in the various industries, the social coexistence or clashing between those on top and those underneath, about women’s and men’s work, leisure, and industrial discipline. They also present the monumental, fantastic sides of the industrial buildings and machines in the usually small-format Switzerland.

Giorgio Wolfensberger, himself a trained photographer of industry, has sifted through many company archives for the Fotomuseum Winterthur. The selected photographs – many of which are shown for the first time – form a visual history of the economic space of eastern Switzerland and the industrial photography from 1870 to today.

The exhibition was curated by Urs Stahel and Giorgio Wolfensberger. A cooperation with the Freuler-Palast, Näfels.

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

Industriebild – Der Wirtschaftsraum Ostschweiz in Fotografien von 1870 bis heute

09.04.–05.06.1994

Mehr
Weniger

Die Schweiz hat eine stolze Industriezeit erlebt. In den Archiven der Ostschweizer Unternehmungen lagern Hunderttausende von fotografischen Zeugnissen, die von Spinnereien, Webereien, Stickereien, von der Metall- und Maschinenindustrie, der Elektro-, Bekleidungs- und Nahrungsmittelindustrie, dem Bau von Strassen, Eisenbahnen, Kraftwerken und Fabrikanlagen berichten.

Diese Fotografien lagern als Glasplatten, Blaupausen oder sorgfältige Abzüge in den Kellern der Fabriken, teils vergessen in Schuhschachteln, dem Staub und der Feuchtigkeit ausgesetzt, teils sorgfältig archiviert und in Fotoalben chronologisch geordnet. Bisher sind sie nur wenig beachtet worden. Und doch: Sie sind ein grossartiger Fundus der Geschichte unseres Landes, geben sie doch bildlich Auskunft über alle industriellen Belange, über die Modernisierung der Schweiz, die Innovations- und Produktionskraft der einst jungen Unternehmen, das Leben in den für Aussenstehende verbotenen Fabrikanlagen, die Mentalitäten in den verschiedenen Branchen, das soziale Zusammengehen oder Aufeinanderprallen von Oben und Unten, Frauen- und Männerarbeit, Freizeit und Industriedisziplin. Sie präsentieren auch das Monumentale, Grossartige der industriellen Bauten und Maschinen in der sonst kleinteiligen Schweiz.

Giorgio Wolfensberger, selbst gelernter Industriefotograf, hat für das Fotomuseum Winterthur viele Firmenarchive minutiös durchforstet. Die ausgewählten Fotografien – viele davon werden erstmals gezeigt – formen eine Bildgeschichte des Wirtschaftsraums Ostschweiz und der Industriefotografie von 1870 bis heute.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Urs Stahel und Giorgio Wolfensberger kuratiert. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit Freuler-Palast, Näfels. 

Mehr
Weniger