Past exhibition

William Eggleston

03.04.–30.05.1993

More
Less

William Eggleston, born in 1939 as the son of a cotton farmer in Memphis, Tennessee, was a dandy and a bit of an enfant terrible in the South and in the photo world. He unleashed a storm of criticism when his work was exhibited for the first time at the Museum of Modern Art in New York by John Szarkowski in 1976. In the meantime, the view of him has visibly changed; through his works from the sixties and seventies, he is considered a central player in the visual history of America, alongside Walker Evans, Robert Frank, and Lee Friedlander.

William Eggleston’s eye for details, his direct and sometimes careless eye for small everyday things – the oven, the children’s bicycle, the cocktail, the dirty dishes – freezes the ideal of the secure American home. His un-heroic images of landscapes, snapshots of washed-out yet achingly seductive landscapes deep within the American South, in Memphis, in Louisiana, require the viewer to expose him or herself to banality. His usage of intense color film material – the dye-transfer process used only in commercial advertisement at the time – which yielded famous bright red ceiling picture, but also some of the palest and harshest color images in the history of photography.

The exhibition was curated by Martin Holborn. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. A collaboration with the Barbican Art Gallery, London, the Louisiana Museum, Humblebaek, and the Folkwang Museum, Essen.

More
Less

Vergangene Ausstellung

William Eggleston

03.04.–30.05.1993

Mehr
Weniger

William Eggleston, 1939 als Sohn eines Baumwollfarmers in Memphis-Tennessee geboren, Dandy und ein wenig Enfant Terrible der Südstaaten und der Fotoszene, entfachte einen Sturm der Kritik, als ihn John Szarkowski 1976 im Museum of Modern Art in New York vorstellte. Inzwischen hat sich die Wertschätzung deutlich verändert, gilt er mit seinen Arbeiten der sechziger und siebziger Jahre nach Walker Evans, Robert Frank und Lee Friedlander als zentrales Glied in der visuellen Chronik Amerikas.

William Egglestons Sicht auf die Details, sein direkter und manchmal nachlässiger Blick auf die kleinen alltäglichen Dinge – den Backofen, das Kinderrad, den Cocktail, das gebrauchte Geschirr – lässt das Wunschbild des heilen amerikanischen Heims gefrieren. Seine unheroischen Landschaftsbilder, diese Schnappschüsse von ausgewaschenen und doch sehnsüchtig-verführerischen Landschaften tief im Süden der USA, in Memphis, in Louisiana, heissen den Betrachter, sich dem Banalen auszusetzen. Seine Verwendung von intensivstem Farbbild-Material, dem damals erst in der kommerziellen Werbung verwendeten Dye-Transfer-Print, führte zum berühmten strahlendroten Deckenbild, aber auch zu den blassesten und grellsten Farbbildern der Fotogeschichte.

Die Ausstellung wurde von Martin Holborn kuratiert. Realisation in Winterthur: Urs Stahel. Eine Zusammenarbeit mit der Barbican Art Gallery, London, dem Louisiana Museum, Humblebaek und dem Folkwang Museum, Essen.

Mehr
Weniger